Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I've tried various apple betty and apple pie recipes over the years, and this is my favorite apple dessert dish. Everyone always loves this when I prepare it in the fall and winter. Some changes I make: I substitute half brown sugar, and I use a few pinches of cloves along with the spices. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This should be called an Apple Crisp, not an Apple Betty which should be made with bread cubes. Th was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PatiO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SCARLETT74
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
YUM!! This is absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written with only one change: using 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, as suggested by other reviewers. That was a good call. The brown sugar gives the dish wonderful flavor. I used Red Delicious apples, only because I happened to have them laying around. They worked fine- definitely a little sweeter than the dish would have been with green apples, but not overpoweringly so. The Apple Betty smells amazing while baking and tastes even better once it's finished. My husband and I polished off the whole thing between the two of us, I'm a little embarassed to say. I might not make this again soon just to spare our waistlines, but that would be the only reason. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCARLETT74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Very good! I think I may have overbaked it a bit because the apples were too soft but it was still great...just not perfect. We ate it a la mode with some carmel sauce on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I may never make apple pie again! This was a great recipe and oh so easy! I had a few apples that needed to be used, and found this recipe, didn't change a thing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Delicious and easy to make. Kids loved this too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Super easy and delicious! There are only four of us in our home and it was gone in one night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada Cowan-Ruhlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Absolutely the best Apple Betty I've ever had! I don't know how anyone's could have come out runny. Certainly wasn't from following this recipe. My Apple Betty came out thick, rich and DELISH! And I was not so careful to measure exactly either. Used more fresh OJ, less white sugar, more brown sugar, more cinnamon, lighter flour and it still came out perfect. And yes, my husband and I also finished it all in one night. Something we never do! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Made this last year for a bunch of Americans who were having Thanksgiving in Italy. It was a HUGE hit!! We made it every couple weeks after that and had "Apple Betty Nights" regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I made this with my two daughters and it is/was sooooooooo good. We took the advice of others and sprinkled a little cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples after we drizzled them with the maple syrup. We also had to add a little more flour (about 1/8 cup) to get the topping to a crumbly consistency. It took us all of ten minutes to throw the whole thing together including peeling and slicing apples. Thanks so much for the recipe. I would give it more stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States