Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was good, but I wish I had read the reviews before I made it, because the many tips about using brown sugar would have made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This dish turned out so yummy! I substituted half of the sugar for dark brown sugar and increased the baking time by 10 minutes. I also used an 8x8 square baking dish instead of the pie plate. Thanks for the recipe and all the helpful tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifaery

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This didn't turn out quite like I thought it would, but my fiancee loved it. It tasted a little more toffee-ish than apple betty-ish but it was so easy to make. Will definitely have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Easy as pie! (pun) It's actually simpler and better than pie. Variation: 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar. Bake for 60 minutes vs 45 minutes. This is my new favorite dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Delish! I didn't have any brown sugar and I was so glad to find this recipe that didn't call for any...and it was sooooo good! I halved the recipe and baked in in a banana bread pan and it was great...there was too much topping for it though. SO GOOD! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheDahlFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I had friends over for dinner, and they both work for a hotel... and they loved it! Will make it again as it is an easy, no nonsense recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I've made this more times than I can count. I love it more everytime. I've made a couple changes though. First I cube a couple slices of bread usually the heal no one eats. I spead them in between the apples and the topping. Last I drizzle honey lightly ontop. One of hubby's favorites!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious! I followed the advice everyone gave about using 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar instead of the 1 cup white sugar, and then also changed the 1/4 tsp of nutmeg to 1/4 tsp fine orange grind. Yumm! Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
YUM! I love this recipe, it was so easy! I made a couple changes. I did as people suggested and did half brown sugar half white sugar. I also put half of the cinnamon in with the sugar mixture and then the other half I added to the diced apples and tossed them around to mix it in to give the apples a bit more seasoning. Thanks for the recipe--it was a hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was really, really good, I added nuts to topping, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States