Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
It was a very satisfying treat. I just cut back on the sugar and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Easy and delicious. Followed suggestion of 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. Would cover it at the end next time to prevent from over browning. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I have been using this same recipe for over60 years. Sometimes I make larger amounts sometimes just the smaller 8"-9" size. I always peel the apples and instead of measuring the apples I just fill the baking dish or pan nice and full and sprinkle with some cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg.. No more than 1/4 cup Orange juice.No need to soak the apples first in orange juice. They are supposed to turn brownish when they absorb the juices. I usually double the topping and just pack it on. You can refrigerate or freeze any unbaked topping for later use. I cook at the same temperature and when I see the juices bubbling up in spots through the topping I know it is done but test with a paring knife to be sure. Sometimes takes longer than 45 minutes. Oh and be sure to put a tray underneath in case it bubbles over a little too much. I got the recipe from my Mom in 1950's and use it often especially in fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeeLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Everyone loves it. I make it often. Excellent dessert for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is from a 1960s era Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and I think it's true that when you use an older recipe it just tastes better. This is definitely a "comfort" dessert and tastes great. It has just the right amount of sweetness and the crumbly topping is soooo good, crunchy yet chewy, really yummy. It's best to use a flavorful apple such as Granny Smith or Macintosh but I'm sure any variety will work fine. I've been making this for years (since the 60's) and it's amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Better than apple pie (in my humble opinion). So easy and quick to make. No pie crust to mess with, but so amazingly delicious. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream (just like pie ala mode). This is my "go to" quick to make dessert whether having company over or going to a friend's house for dinner and bringing the dessert. Never anything left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We really liked this, I used lemon juice instead of orange because that's what I had and it's really just to keep the apples from turning brown - that said I would use a bit less next time even if I had oj. I will make this again trying 1/2 brown sugar and a dash of cloves and/or allspice. It was good as written but I think those changes would make it great. Next time I will put foil under the pie plate to catch the drips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good. I used half white and half brown sugar, and otherwise followed the recipe. Next time I will make it a bit less sweet by cutting the topping ingredients down by a third or half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The finished product was too watery. I did cut the sugar by about a quarter but the topping was still too sugary. Also the family wasn't a fan of the apples themselves as there was no flavor. So next time I reduce the oj by at least a third, the sugar by half, and add additional seasoning to the apples before adding the topping. I was thinking that replacing half the flour with oats might be a good change to make it a little more hearty. Still, I am glad I tried this recipe out as it showed me how easy it can be to throw a quick but comforting dessert together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003

Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States