Apple Betty Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Everyone loves it. I make it often. Excellent dessert for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Pearson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This recipe is from a 1960s era Better Homes and Gardens Cookbook and I think it's true that when you use an older recipe it just tastes better. This is definitely a "comfort" dessert and tastes great. It has just the right amount of sweetness and the crumbly topping is soooo good, crunchy yet chewy, really yummy. It's best to use a flavorful apple such as Granny Smith or Macintosh but I'm sure any variety will work fine. I've been making this for years (since the 60's) and it's amazing every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Better than apple pie (in my humble opinion). So easy and quick to make. No pie crust to mess with, but so amazingly delicious. Serve it warm with vanilla ice cream (just like pie ala mode). This is my "go to" quick to make dessert whether having company over or going to a friend's house for dinner and bringing the dessert. Never anything left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
We really liked this, I used lemon juice instead of orange because that's what I had and it's really just to keep the apples from turning brown - that said I would use a bit less next time even if I had oj. I will make this again trying 1/2 brown sugar and a dash of cloves and/or allspice. It was good as written but I think those changes would make it great. Next time I will put foil under the pie plate to catch the drips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Very good. I used half white and half brown sugar, and otherwise followed the recipe. Next time I will make it a bit less sweet by cutting the topping ingredients down by a third or half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
The finished product was too watery. I did cut the sugar by about a quarter but the topping was still too sugary. Also the family wasn't a fan of the apples themselves as there was no flavor. So next time I reduce the oj by at least a third, the sugar by half, and add additional seasoning to the apples before adding the topping. I was thinking that replacing half the flour with oats might be a good change to make it a little more hearty. Still, I am glad I tried this recipe out as it showed me how easy it can be to throw a quick but comforting dessert together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalainas2003
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Easy to make and delicious. Its very sweet and needs to be served with ice cream. You should make sure the apples are peeled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmascookin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was so easy to make and tasted delicious!!! I love that it is basically apple pie without a crust! Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAXYBONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was great! Will definitely try brown sugar next time but it's great as is...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States