Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is an excellent pie! My boyfriend went back for a second slice 10 minutes after the first so it must have been good! I made it exactly as written. I used Granny Smith apples and felt that the amount of sugar was just right. If you use sweeter apples you might want to reduce it a bit. I used the all butter pie crust at elise.com which is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was really good & easy to make! I used raspberry instead and Granny apples. I didn't have tapioca, so after the fruits soaked in the sugar, then the leftover juice in the bowl was mixed with a little cornstarch powder to thicken. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Fantastic pie! I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top of the pie crust and served with ice cream. This pie is defintely going to be part of many Thanksgivings to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
When I read all the great reviews, I thought, "What's the big deal? The ingredients are so basic?" Well, let me tell you, this pie was fantastic!! Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Made 3 times varying ratio of apple to berries. Great every time. I used small tapioca first time and maybe didn't let it sit long enough but still good. The large tapioca, let sit, and good to go. I too had alot of juice so I added an extra shake of tapioca. I used different pastry recipes and everything from pie pans to 9x13 with no problems and RAVE REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
after reading the reviews (several staing the berries dominate the flavor) i did it with 1 cup of berries instead more apple the flavor was more balanced this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've used the same recipe for years. My family loves it. I substitute raspberries for the blackberries and it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Really great american favorite! I made this twice already but with fresh cranberries. There is something about cranberries and apples that my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This turned out real good. I like the apples with the berries and more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by TAMAREE
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Definitely better than an all blackberry pie, since it's less seedy. My family gave it 5 stars and my son doesn't even like pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAREE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States