Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Made 3 times varying ratio of apple to berries. Great every time. I used small tapioca first time and maybe didn't let it sit long enough but still good. The large tapioca, let sit, and good to go. I too had alot of juice so I added an extra shake of tapioca. I used different pastry recipes and everything from pie pans to 9x13 with no problems and RAVE REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
after reading the reviews (several staing the berries dominate the flavor) i did it with 1 cup of berries instead more apple the flavor was more balanced this way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I've used the same recipe for years. My family loves it. I substitute raspberries for the blackberries and it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: De Graff, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Really great american favorite! I made this twice already but with fresh cranberries. There is something about cranberries and apples that my family loves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This turned out real good. I like the apples with the berries and more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Photo by TAMAREE
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Definitely better than an all blackberry pie, since it's less seedy. My family gave it 5 stars and my son doesn't even like pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMAREE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used this recipe as is, except for the size. I increased by 1.5 to make a 9X13" cobbler with it. It was great, everyone loved it. I fixed the fruit mixture the night before so I could bake it quickly in the morning. It was very juicy, so I did add a sprinkle more of the tapioca, being afraid that sitting so long might cause it to be juicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had a bag full of peach and apple slices left over from a wedding shower and wanted to make a pie. I used this recipe and it turned out great. My hubby just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Fantastic! A great tasting pie. I made some very minor modifications though. I used a little lemon juice on the apples to keep them from browning after cut. Instead of on 1 C sugar, I used 1 C Splenda and 1/2 C sugar and put in some cinnamon as well. I actually forgot to add the butter pats before putting on the top crust- I don't care because it was still great! To top off the pie I brushed the crust with water and sprinkled sugar atop the pie. I did cover the crust the first 20 min to reduce the browness of the edges. The filling was nice and thick and juices weren't running everywhere when you cut a piece. Having the apples in the recipe definately reduced having all the blackberry seeds in one bite which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I am so thankful I pick blackberries and freeze them. During the winter time it is nice to have some summertime pie. I didn't have apple so I used 4 cups of blackberries, delish! Next time I will cut back a bit on sugar, maybe 2/3c or 3/4c. hanks for the recipe. This is pretty much a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNABANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States