Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Deliciously wonderful! I actually did a crumb topping instead of 2 pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Good, made it with raspberries instead of blackberries. Nice, tart flavour -- I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Turned out great! Substituted 1 1/2 tablespoons for the tapioca, added a pinch of nutmeg, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brown, and used mulberries instead of blackberries... so I guess I ended up with a completely different pie than the recipe! But oh, it was soooo good... :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This pie is awesome! I used blueberries instead of the blackberries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
A little too tart for what I'm used to in an apple pie. Next time I think I would try to use a sweeter berry, and probably one without seeds :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ekramer86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Mine came out super runny. Next time I'd lessen the sugar and possibly add more tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Very easy recipe! I love how the apples tame down the blackberries so the pie isn't too tart. This one was a hit with the mother-in-law, she even asked for the recipe! I didn't have tapioca so I just used 1 tbsp corn starch. I wiped egg whites on the crust and sprinkled with sugar. Great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I am a horrible pie maker but this one came out perfect!! Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Loved this pie! Very easy to make. I used the Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust recipe and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made this pie once; I made a variation of the pie once. The pie is a very good recipe, but (in my opinion) it needs about a quarter of the sugar. My variation: I used 2 Tbsp. sugar (we like our pies slightly sweet) and no flour or butter. The rest of the ingredients I did not change except for adding a little more apple and blackberries. Baked at 425 F on the bottom rack of the oven for exactly 23 minutes. The result was a golden, scrumptious pie. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States