Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is one of the best pies I have ever made. The filling is not soggy, but a wonderful texture and perfect balance of sweet and tart. The pie was even better the second day, and I will certainly make it again. I usually make recipes exactly as written the first time; because of a dairy allergy, I omitted the butter. The pie was fantastic without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Great tasting pie. Tapioca was increased to prevent a runny pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used this recipe for the first pie I ever made and my family LOVED IT! I used the called for amount of blackberries and maybe a little more than the 2 cups of apples. I ended up using two Granny Smith apples and two Gala apples to add a little more sweetness to the pie, and I didn't have tapioca, so I used cornstarch instead. I also used a few drops of lemon juice on my apples to keep them from browning up before they got to baking, and tossed in a pinch of nutmeg. Since I don't believe in bothering with making my own crusts yet, I used the Pilsbury Pie Crusts from my grocery store's refridgerator section. I can't believe how well this pie turned out!!! It wasn't runny at all! The only thing I'm changing for next time is a few more slices of apple. SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This pie is amazingly delicious. It's so much better than a blackberry or apple pie. Absolutely a recipe I'll use over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Awesome! I didn't have tapioca so I used 1 tbs flour and 1 tbs corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Family loved it. Tart and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeport, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This recipe blends the apple and berry flavors wonderfully. I did use an extra cup of blackberries as the filling looked like a small amount for a 9 inch pie. The recipe is a definite keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! I combined this with the Blackberry Cobbler II recipe without the tapioca to make a fantastic apple blackberry cobbler. Used gluten free all purpose flour. I am way too lazy to make gluten free pie crust from scratch so cobbler was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheelersburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Great flavor and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States