Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Excellent recipe! Just the right combination of blackberries and apples. This will definitely become a regular in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Simple, easy, and delicious. No fail dessert sure to please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Being a NEW baker, I made this pie and loved it. I used a deep dish pie plate so the 2 cups of apples and berries is not nearly enough. So I increased the amount of apples from 2 cups to 4 heaping cups and berries from 2 cups to 3 heaping cups which made it more full to my liking. I increased the cooking time another 15+ minutes......could have gone a little more. I also increased the cinnamon and sugar some but not alot because the apples (Granny) and Berries give alot of flavor anyway. I took one persons advise of adding 1 tablespoon of Cornstarch. I think next time I will try 2 tablespoons....especially because I use more apples and berries. Great tasting though and will make again for sure......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
SO good! This has been a hit every time I've made it - I prefer raspberries to blackberries, and I like the sweetness of Gala apples the best. Also, I've never used tapioca so I just substituted flour as that's what I had around the house, and I think it turned out great! Overall a fantastic pie and I've gotten so many compliments on it. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used a frozen store crust, frozen blackberries and fresh granny smith apples (only needed 2 big ones). I brushed some egg white on the top crust and sprinkled some sugar on top before baking. This pie looked like it came out of a magazine...and got rave reviews on taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Loved the fruiat combo! Made with a flaky butter crust and this may be the new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was very good. I used a deep dish pie plate and wished I'd put more fruit in the filling. Also, the recipe didn't specify what type of apples to use(baking, tart or other). I used sweet eating apples, thinking the blackberries might be a little sour. I think it might have a little more flavor that way. I used 3/4 tsp. of cinnamon and a little nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Wow! Not only did this pie TASTE delicious,. but it looked b-e-a-u-t-i-f--u-l-! I did change a couple of things though. Instead of "fresh blackberries" I added frozen blueberries, frozen raspberries and a package called "frozen mixed berries" including blackberries, raspberries, and a couple other berries. I used a pre-made crust from Mrs. Smith's. I came out flaky which was nice and I also did NOT add a top covering layer of dough. I also purposely smushed some of the berries and it added a nice smooth yet crunchy kind of texture. The apples were a nice touch.. I used 2 whole ones, not peeled instead of 2 cups, peeled, cored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was good, but not great. I enjoyed it but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindee Greivel Myers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
make sure to serve with some ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States