Apple-Berry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I used this recipe as is, except for the size. I increased by 1.5 to make a 9X13" cobbler with it. It was great, everyone loved it. I fixed the fruit mixture the night before so I could bake it quickly in the morning. It was very juicy, so I did add a sprinkle more of the tapioca, being afraid that sitting so long might cause it to be juicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
I had a bag full of peach and apple slices left over from a wedding shower and wanted to make a pie. I used this recipe and it turned out great. My hubby just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Fantastic! A great tasting pie. I made some very minor modifications though. I used a little lemon juice on the apples to keep them from browning after cut. Instead of on 1 C sugar, I used 1 C Splenda and 1/2 C sugar and put in some cinnamon as well. I actually forgot to add the butter pats before putting on the top crust- I don't care because it was still great! To top off the pie I brushed the crust with water and sprinkled sugar atop the pie. I did cover the crust the first 20 min to reduce the browness of the edges. The filling was nice and thick and juices weren't running everywhere when you cut a piece. Having the apples in the recipe definately reduced having all the blackberry seeds in one bite which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I am so thankful I pick blackberries and freeze them. During the winter time it is nice to have some summertime pie. I didn't have apple so I used 4 cups of blackberries, delish! Next time I will cut back a bit on sugar, maybe 2/3c or 3/4c. hanks for the recipe. This is pretty much a no fail recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSANNABANANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Great Pie. I added more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Love this recipe. I chop the apple slices into thirds so the apple kind of gets lost in with the blackberries. Nice not to have as many seeds as traditional blackberry pie. I use 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar just personal preference. I have been asked for the recipe by several friends so I'd say it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Mountain Gourmet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Excellent! After making a Blackberry pie, I had a couple of cups of berries left over and tried this recipe, it was way better than the blackberry-only pie-perfect texture and very delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
YUM! An excellent combination - why haven't I heard of this before? This was on the sweet side of pie, although both my apples and blackberries were very ripe... I think next time (there definitely will be next times!) I might cut it down a tablespoon or two; I think that would go better with ice cream :) Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
This was the best pie I have ever had. My husband went crazy over this and said the same thing. I would give it ten stars if I could. |Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I added extra blackberries and cut down the sugar a bit, and it was still perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States