Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
My husband raved and raved about the delicious new flavors in this salad. It was a nice compliment to our meal, and one I'm sure to make again. I couldn't find apple cider, so I had to use plain apple juice...it had a slightly different taste than I imagine the cider gives it and I can't wait to try it with the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
I prefer the apples and beets to be in cut in medium size chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
My guests loved this and so did I. Beautiful on the plate, and fun and easy to bake the beets. I did not use the second amount of vinegar though. It was enough with just the apple cider vinegar. I also used toasted almonds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
this salad was a HIT! the beets were marinated just the way I like them and who would of guessed they tasted so great with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good! I don't like beets nor avocados but this is a light, healthy, tasty salad. I marinated the beets, apples, onions, and avocados all at the same time since the avocados were a bit green and it came out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I halved the quantity of dressing and found there was plenty for 3 beets. Marinated the sliced beets in all the vinaigrette and just ate the salad 2 days later so this definitely keeps. Used powdered mustard in lieu of prepared mustard. Forgot the onions on the salad, but I served this with sauteed chicken livers with garlic so I guess the garlic compensated for the onion, which I didn't even notice was missing until I just re-read the recipe! Will definitely re-do, and definitely again with the chicken livers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! The mixture of the tastes was wonderful. The only downside was that it took a long time to make, but it was worth it in the end. My husband and I both enjoyed it. There was a lot of extra salad dressing, but I will probably just use it for other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I thought this was delicious. I added goat cheese which was a great complement to the sweetness of the beets and the apples. I also realized at the very last second that I used up all the apple cider and apple juice in the house... so I had to substitute 3/4 cup water with 1/2 tsp of sugar. It was still delicious but I think it would be better with the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Don't need to change a thing...FABULOUS!!! Used olive oil in place of vegetable oil!! Thanks so much for the healthy, beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States