Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
You know what I think? You only live once, so why not use a whole darn avocado. I also used 2 green onions instead of a regular onion. And it was delicious. Lots of flavour and colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
I prefer the apples and beets to be in cut in medium size chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
this was quicker when i used canned beets and the taste was very nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
Very pretty salad. I made my beets heart shaped for valentine's day. Was a bit confusing in instructions - step #4 "with the 1/2 cup vinaigrette" There was more than 1/2 cup, so I wasn't sure if I was suppose to put the beets only in a 1/2 cup of the liquid. I put the beets in it all. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
this salad was a HIT! the beets were marinated just the way I like them and who would of guessed they tasted so great with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
My guests loved this and so did I. Beautiful on the plate, and fun and easy to bake the beets. I did not use the second amount of vinegar though. It was enough with just the apple cider vinegar. I also used toasted almonds. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
Very yummy! I made the mistake of putting it on the same plate with mashed potatoes/main entree and the beets/dressing turned the potatoes pink. It was kinda funny -- so my suggestion is to make sure you keep this salad on a plate by itself! The taste was really good --- nice combo. of ingredients. Very pretty, too. I used canned beets, which were way less of a hassle and just as good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
My husband raved and raved about the delicious new flavors in this salad. It was a nice compliment to our meal, and one I'm sure to make again. I couldn't find apple cider, so I had to use plain apple juice...it had a slightly different taste than I imagine the cider gives it and I can't wait to try it with the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was good. I've never cooked raw beets before and boy do they taste just like canned!! Next time I'd use canned and save all that time. I didnt toast the walnuts either and they were still good. My boyfriend really liked it. Im on the fence...It was good, but I wouldnt make it again. Ok, maybe to impress someone because it was all red and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Definitely "can" the beets. Too much time and hassle, especially the pink fingers you get from working with the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States