Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! The mixture of the tastes was wonderful. The only downside was that it took a long time to make, but it was worth it in the end. My husband and I both enjoyed it. There was a lot of extra salad dressing, but I will probably just use it for other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Don't need to change a thing...FABULOUS!!! Used olive oil in place of vegetable oil!! Thanks so much for the healthy, beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a great presentation for a small party I had. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
If I could choose no stars I would. I am a huge fan of all the ingredients in this recipe, however, combined is TERRIBLE! It looks pretty but tastes awful. It takes wayyyyy to long to make. This was a huge d disappointment, my boyfriend was not impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I halved the quantity of dressing and found there was plenty for 3 beets. Marinated the sliced beets in all the vinaigrette and just ate the salad 2 days later so this definitely keeps. Used powdered mustard in lieu of prepared mustard. Forgot the onions on the salad, but I served this with sauteed chicken livers with garlic so I guess the garlic compensated for the onion, which I didn't even notice was missing until I just re-read the recipe! Will definitely re-do, and definitely again with the chicken livers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I thought this was delicious. I added goat cheese which was a great complement to the sweetness of the beets and the apples. I also realized at the very last second that I used up all the apple cider and apple juice in the house... so I had to substitute 3/4 cup water with 1/2 tsp of sugar. It was still delicious but I think it would be better with the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good! I don't like beets nor avocados but this is a light, healthy, tasty salad. I marinated the beets, apples, onions, and avocados all at the same time since the avocados were a bit green and it came out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
You know what I think? You only live once, so why not use a whole darn avocado. I also used 2 green onions instead of a regular onion. And it was delicious. Lots of flavour and colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
this salad was a HIT! the beets were marinated just the way I like them and who would of guessed they tasted so great with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States