Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was initally very hesitant about this recipe, as I have had terrible luck with making vinaigrette dressings---but this recipe was delicious! My friends and I loved it---will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mishi
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! The mixture of the tastes was wonderful. The only downside was that it took a long time to make, but it was worth it in the end. My husband and I both enjoyed it. There was a lot of extra salad dressing, but I will probably just use it for other salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Don't need to change a thing...FABULOUS!!! Used olive oil in place of vegetable oil!! Thanks so much for the healthy, beautiful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was a great presentation for a small party I had. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcmom23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hightstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
If I could choose no stars I would. I am a huge fan of all the ingredients in this recipe, however, combined is TERRIBLE! It looks pretty but tastes awful. It takes wayyyyy to long to make. This was a huge d disappointment, my boyfriend was not impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-LITE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I halved the quantity of dressing and found there was plenty for 3 beets. Marinated the sliced beets in all the vinaigrette and just ate the salad 2 days later so this definitely keeps. Used powdered mustard in lieu of prepared mustard. Forgot the onions on the salad, but I served this with sauteed chicken livers with garlic so I guess the garlic compensated for the onion, which I didn't even notice was missing until I just re-read the recipe! Will definitely re-do, and definitely again with the chicken livers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I thought this was delicious. I added goat cheese which was a great complement to the sweetness of the beets and the apples. I also realized at the very last second that I used up all the apple cider and apple juice in the house... so I had to substitute 3/4 cup water with 1/2 tsp of sugar. It was still delicious but I think it would be better with the cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENCHAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
Very good! I don't like beets nor avocados but this is a light, healthy, tasty salad. I marinated the beets, apples, onions, and avocados all at the same time since the avocados were a bit green and it came out beautiful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This is FANTASTIC!!!!!!! I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
You know what I think? You only live once, so why not use a whole darn avocado. I also used 2 green onions instead of a regular onion. And it was delicious. Lots of flavour and colour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States