Apple, Beet and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I cooked the beets on the pressure cooker, used balsamic and red wine vinegar, used toasted pecans instead of walnuts and everybody loved it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Good without the avocado as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieLovinHippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I loved this! I used fresh orange and red beets which added beautiful color. The dressing was fabulous-- it turned a bright red from soaking the beets in it. I made enough for 3 days and just stored the dressing and beets separately. It wasn't difficult to cook the beets at all. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this salad 2 Rosh Hashanas in a row. I tweak the recipe a bit, adding pomegranate seeds on top as well as avocado slices. I set it up on each plate, which looks very impressive, but is also rather time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Great combination of flavors and textures! I used a Granny Smith apple, and the crisp tartness was a nice complement to the beets. My friend and I both agreed it needed a little something else, and decided some crumbled blue cheese would be perfect. I'll do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This recipe was a perfect Thanksgiving starter salad although it was more filling than I intended! I did make a few changes on the dressing. I boiled about a cup and a half of the cider until it had reduced to 3/4c to intensify the flavor. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I increased the vinegar to 3/4c. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I definitely modified the recipe to what I had on hand. I made the dressing out of red wine vinegar, balsamic vinegar, honey, oil, mustard, celery seed, salt and pepper. I also didn't have any salad greens. I toasted up some sliced almonds and added some Boursin cheese. Turned out delish. I know it totally veered away from the recipe but the beet/apply/avocado/onion mixture was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was really good but I thought something was missing. I added some goat cheese and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Alright, the vinaigrette is good, wasn't crazy about it. The best part was the beets after they'd marinated in the vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte, Michigan, USA
Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I was initally very hesitant about this recipe, as I have had terrible luck with making vinaigrette dressings---but this recipe was delicious! My friends and I loved it---will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States