Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Good recipe, Terri. I've made this twice now. First according to the recipe: I like the crust, but there was a little too much of it for my taste, and I liked the filling which there was a little to little of it. I thought the apples being crunchy detracted from the overall flavor. So, the second time I cut the crust by 1/3, upped the filling by another 1/2, and precooked my apples in the cinnamon sugar in the microwave for 3 minutes. Then I arranged the apples in a circular pattern covering the entire top of the torte. While warm from the oven, I covered the top evenly with a cinnamon sugar sauce. Wow! What flavor, and the presentation was beautiful. The ladies at my Bunco party thought I had ordered it from their favorite bakery! Thanks for creating the roadmap that helped me reach my destination....AND keep up my reputation as the best cook in the group! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
This was *THE* most gorgeous dessert I've ever personally made. It came out looking like I had spent a gazillion dollars on it at some fancy bakery -- well, until I tried to cut through the crunchy apples!!!! I WISH I had seen the review that suggested to cook them first, because they DEFINITELY need it!!! Also, I think two medium/largish apples would be plenty. Six is WAY too many apples -- and I only used 4 biggish ones, and that was too many. I will definitely try this again, but I think I might try it with my home canned peaches, or maybe pears, next time. It was absolutely delicious -- just very hard to cut because of the apples. If I do the apples again, I know a lot more about how I would do it this time! The bottom crust and the cream cheese part was to die for!!!!! (***UPDATE*** I made this a second time with pears -- two cans canned pear halves, I sliced them -- and it was WAAAAAAAAAAAY better than with apples! I've revised my version of the recipe to be PEAR Bavarian Torte. Try the pears, you'll be delighted!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
With the exception of the almonds, which I don't use, this is a recipe I've used for 25 years because it's so darn good! This can easily be doubled; just spread the dough into the bottom and sides of a 9x13" pan. If my gooped, splattered, and dog-eared recipe card offers any proof, this classic recipe is just plain delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
OMG! What can I possibly say about this recipe that hasn't already been said - it's fabulous! I didn't change a thing except to leave off the almonds as my husband isn't a huge fan of them. It took a little longer to cook and the smell was divine. When it came out of the oven I couldn't resist topping it off with a warm caramel sauce - just a little. I must say the smell from the oven was definitely an indication of how it was going to taste. My husband devoured his piece and declared that I could make this anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This is a delicious and easy dessert. I suggest pressing the crust 1 1\2 " up the sides of the springform pan, and using almond extract instead of vanilla in the crust (goes well with the almonds in the torte). I also slightly cooked the apples in the microwave for 2 min or so, before I mixed them with cinnamon and sugar. Lastly, after the torte cooled, I used a glaze of strained nectarine jam heated and mixed with a tsp of water to give it a nice glossy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEN-SU

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
DO NOT MESS WITH THIS RECIPE >> JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS..IT IS PERFECT! The most impressive and delicious dessert I have had in a long time. I checked out the description of a torte vs a tart and it seems to be a TART (A tart is a pastry dish, usually sweet, similar to a pie, but different in that the top is open and not covered with pastry.) I followed the directions to the T except for the crust and I did not add vanilla. I cut my butter into the flour and sugar and did not want to mix in liquid so added a sprinkle of cinnamon then patted into the bottom of the spring form....i then put the cheese filling on top of that and I thought the recipe said 4 cups of apples for some reason so that is what i used. I sliced them in about 1/4" slices and arranged them on edge sticking them down into the cheese mixture making a circle and then filling in the middle. Baked according to instructions. I then removed from oven and put about a 1/4 cup of peach preserves on the top and then the slivered almonds and put it under the broiler for a few minutes...(watch carefully) It was beautiful and delicious! I even think you could cut back on the sugars somewhat. Divine! just divine and very impressive! thanks for sharing this recipe! Yes I am a food critic! and still able to impress my friends, thanks the these kinds of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is possibly the best dessert I've ever made, and desserts are one of my specialties. Rave reviews from my husband as well. It didn't last long enough to share it with anyone else! Only made two small changes to the original recipe, following some of the suggestions of other reviewers: microwaved the apple mixture for 3 minutes (and drained 2/3 of the liquid off before putting it on the torte), and added 1/4 tsp of almond extract and 1/4 tsp of vanilla to the cream cheese mixture instead of 1/2 of vanilla. It was perfect with the small changes. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Country, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
Good torte. Loved the buttery taste of the crust - it complements the apples very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This recipe is amazing! It's easy, looks amazing, and tastes incredible! I will definitely make this again. One of the best desserts I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I liked that this recipe sounded easy, with beautiful results. Well, it was easier than I expected. I followed the instructions, with the exception of cooking the apples in the mircowave for 3 minutes. I liked the way the photo looked and decided to layer it... from the bottom, to the top, I used crust, filling, apples, filling, and more apples (arranged in a circular pattern on top). We did not have the almonds, and so I decided on a cinnamon sugar sauce. YUM! Got rave reviews from everyone, and they were fighting over who got the last of it. This would be impressive enough for guests. Next time I may glaze it with my Cabernet Sauvignon jelly and use pears, instead of apples. Thank you, Terri, for a wonderful recipe. It will be in my holiday repertoire this season as everyone has already requested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldilocks19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States