Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
GREAT RECIPE and so easy!! I made two and tried different things with each and my recommendations are: 1) Resist urge to add extra moisture to the crumb mixture. Just press firmly into tin and rely on the juice from the cooking apples to bring it together. 2) Brown sugar works well as a substitute. 3) If you like cinnamon, double it. 4) Def follow others' tips and cook the apples for 3min in microwave first! 5) Pour leftover juice from apples as they cooked in microwave/cinnamon/sugar over torte once you have put the almonds on. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
The finished product is beautiful and tasty. I'm only giving it 4 stars b/c if I had not taken the advice of other reviewers and pre-cooked the apples we would have been really disappointed by crunchy apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This is a beautiful presenting dessert and it tastes wonderful. I did make a few changes to the recipe. After reading the review I followed their advise and I microwaved my apples for 3 minutes after tossing them with the sugar and cinnamon. I also only used 4 tart apples instead of 6. Microwaving them did create extra juice in the bottom of the bowl so I spooned them onto the filling leaving the juice in the bow. I also increased the filling by using 12 oz of cream cheese, 2 extra TBSP of sugar and 2 eggs. I used almond extract instead of vanilla throughout the recipe. I also added dried lemon peel to the apples and the crust. I baked it an extra 5 minutes at 450 degrees. I didn't have sliced almonds so I sprinkled chopped almonds on top and baked about 5 more minutes. My family was very happy with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I would have given 10 stars if possible. Great! After reading the reviews, I did precook my apples just a bit on the stove and pre-baked my crust for a few minutes. It came out fabulous! I used Granny Smith apples. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
I found this recipe in a magazine at least 30 years ago--wish I could remember the magazine, but I do remember it wasn't a culinary magazine. However, this has been my go-to company dessert recipe for years. It is absolutely delicious and always turns out perfectly beautiful. I've always used Yellow Delicious apples. I also press the dough 2 inches up the side of the springform pan--looks like it was made in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is a "kill" recipe that I've been baking for 20+ years also. However, my version is to top the torte with apple slices dipped in cinnamon-sugar mix and then starting with the outside edge working in, place the slices in a circular pattern with the slices barely over-lapping. Warm in microwave about 2/3 cup apricot preserves. Gently spoon onto the apple slices and spred covering the entire top. Bake as directed-YUM!!!! Very pretty and looks like an european pastry. I'm sure adding almond slivers before the apricot preserves would add to the look and taste too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was really good! I cut back on the apples as suggested by others (I used 4) and I cooked them for 3 mins, at 1 min intervals, on high, stirring after every min. Turned out great! We served it with home made vanilla ice cream, and it was fantastic! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I tried to follow recipe as closely as I could except for some additions: -Added 1/4 tsp almond extract to both mixtures. - precooked apples as others suggested (and let me tell u, this was necessary!)in a skillet with a splash of water -Used red delicious applesand added less than 1/4 cups sugar to them. -Added a bit of milk to almondsbefore adding them to the top and sprinkled them with a bit of sugar on top of tart. Baked 10 minutes and then drizzled the top with the leftover liquid from the apples and returned to bake five more minutes to caramelize. TURNED OUT AMAZING!! i AM SURE IT WOULD HAVE TURNED OUT GREAT IF I HAD FOLLOWED RECIPE AS IS AS LONG AS I PRECOOK THE APPLES THOUGH! UPDATE: A couple days later, some of the guests that tried the tart admitted to loving the filling part, but still the topping was not that great. Still not caramelized and cooked through enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I made this a couple months back and I just saw I forgot to review it! This dessert is just delish! I pretty much went by the recipe except when reading the reviews, I thought I should cook my apples just a touch before adding over top. I sauteed them in a skillet with butter and the cinnamon and sugar mixture. This gave them a nice carmelized sauce. I also, when adding the almonds, made up more of a streusel type topping with some butter, flour, brown sugar, and the almonds to sprinkle on. For the crust, along with the vanilla, I added in some almond extract to give it added flavor. I ate this both warm and cold. I think I liked it best cold and served with ice cream! For me, it didnt have enough apples. So I definitely will up the apple amount next time, maybe even the cream cheese mixture as well. Thanks for the recipe! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I was super excited to try this recipe, but was bummed by the results. I give this 3 stars based on mine, but since I altered the recipe based on other reviews I had to provide an extra star for making (unneccessary) changes. I think it would have been better written as is. I decreased the apples and doubled the cream cheese filling as recommended by so many, but wasn't nearly as impressed as I was expecting. Not enough apples and too much cream cheese, almost like a bland apple topped cheesecake (made with above changes). I think it would have been much better, and the apple torte I was hoping for, by leaving a thinner cream cheese layer and loading up more apples on top, probably exactly as written. This is the first time I made a recipe based on recommended changes, and then found it was probably better as is written. This was for in-laws Easter brunch... I am the dessert master queen and try to live up to my expectations every time I make them something and was almost dissapointed to be serving this the way it turned out. * PLEASE NOTE THIS IS A GOOD RECIPE, I SHOULD HAVE TRIED AS IS FIRST BEFORE MAKING CHANGES. I will try again as written and make a better review then, probably better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States