Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
As others have mentioned, this is one of those desserts where it's super easy, presents beautifully, and the taste heavenly! But definitely precook the sliced apples in the microwave for 3 mins w/ the cinnamon and sugar. Also used 1/4 tsp vanilla & 1/4 tsp almond extract instead of the 1/2 tsp vanilla and only needed 3 big Granny Smith apples. *Either toast the almonds before-hand or closely watch the edges of the torte after adding the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
totally awesome! don't change anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was one of the most beautiful desserts I've ever pulled off. Only change made was a sprinkle of brown sugar over the top with the almonds. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyjane_25
Home Town: Sesser, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I too microwaved the apples for 3 mins. turning every minute. Then I did 2 layers of the filling...cream cheese, apples repeat. Smelled yummy and was very good. Really best served warm out of the oven. Bet it would be great with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is one of the best recipes I've made! MAKE SURE YOU SLICE YOUR APPLES THIN ENOUGH, so that you don't have the same probs as the other readers. I only needed 3 large apples (the tartness of granny smith was perfect). Make sure you don't use anything bigger than a 9 in pan, or else the yummy crust is spread to thin. Don't worry about just dumping the almonds on the top and spreading them out, they turn out toasty and fabulous! This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swolfe_2
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe. I increased cream cheese to 12 oz and added 1 TBS of lemon juice to it and only used 3 Granny Smith apples. I also lined the springform pan bottom with parchment paper and brushed the cooled torte with Apple Jelly. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Made this tonight and everyone loved it! it was easy to put together, ingredients on hand, looked so pretty. I did leave out the almonds because my children don't like nuts, but I didn't miss them at all! My SIl told me I should make this for christmas dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Just happened to see this recipe and thought it sounded good. Boy, is it ever good!! I used 3 apples and 1 asian pear and microwaved them as other reviewers suggested. I also used 12 ounces of cream cheese. This dessert is also very easy to put together. I didnt have a springform pan so I used an 11 x 7 baking dish. It fit in there perfectly. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JNB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this for Sunday night pot roast dinner. I LOVE THIS RECIPE. First of all, it was SO EASY. Second, it looked so PRETTY. Third, it tasted WONDERFUL! I followed the recipe exactly, except I used only 4 apples, and I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes. I will be making this often. Thanks much, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Port, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I've made this recipe a couple of times. I microwaved the apples for 3 minutes before cooking, as suggested. I also brush on 1 tablespoon of melted butter over the top so the apples brown nicely and don't dry out. Tastes delicious with almonds, but equally wonderful with pecans. Always a hit!! Don't hesitate to try this recipe! So easy and foolproof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States