Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by lizz
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this over the weekend and it was great (husband had two pieces!) I took advice of reviews and this is what I came up with: Used the original crust but doubled the cheese filling while adding 1/4 tsp. of almond extract with 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I think the key to tender apples is slicing thin, so I used four large HoneyCrisp and sliced about 1/8" thick also taking time to arrange them as evenly as possible in a circular pattern. I baked at 450 for 10 minutes and then turned oven down to 375 for about 40-45 minutes. I covered Torte the last 10 minutes so apples wouldn't over brown. We all thought the crisp/tender apples with the cheese filling was a terrific combination (if you want soft apples, make apple pie). Thanks everyone for the comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this for Christmas Eve as a dessert everyone loved it especially my husband he couldn't wait to have it for breakfast too I followed the recipe exactly no changes and I found it to be quite easy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was pretty good warm, but leftovers the next day served cold tasted much better! The crust is more like a cookie than a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Fantastic. I thought the 8" springform was perfect. Each step was easy and a perfect amount for a delightful fall treat. (Good for any time though) I added craisins which was nice. Came out of springform pan no problem after taking a plastic knife beforehand just in case. Never made a torte before and I will def. do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this recipe yesterday. We went apple picking last Sunday and I was looking for a simple and quick recipe.......this recipe was both and all enjoyed! Was nicely flakey and melted in your mouth and also pretty in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This didn't come out looking too pretty (and slicing it up wasn't pretty either) but it was devoured by everyone (I only got one bite out of it), so giving a 5 star. only thing I did different was toasted the almonds a little bit beforehand. Recipe will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My husband could not stop talking about this torte. I made it with pears, and it was absolutely delicious. He's asked for it several times since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneyamazing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
The torte ended up so sweet it was impossible to eat it. If you apples are not incredibly sour, the amount of sugar needs to be reduced in 25-30%. Sugar overpowered the cake's taste, so I'm not sure if it was good. The creem cheese tasted mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Sent this to work with my husband and he brought me back a lot of compliments...will use for a dinner party next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zephyr Cove, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Turned out pretty good, not sure if I'll end up making this again or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lionqueenmelissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States