Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I was disappointed in the appearance of this and handling it. It tasted fine but the apples weren't soft after the 35 minutes of cook time, so I added another 20 minutes. It still was under-cooked. Tasted fine but fell apart when I tried to serve it. Anyone else have this problem? I didn't see any comments about adjusting the baking time but if I prepared this one again, I'd double the time at the lower temperature before adding the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Wonderful taste. Since some reviewers suggested that the apples needed some softening and I don't have a microwave, I put the apple slices and some milk in the oven at 175 degrees C while I was preparing the rest. Definitely going to be repeated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I wasn't sure about this. But boy am I glad I made it!! Amazing! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Rial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Served this after Christmas eve supper, it was awesome. Will definitely make again. Made it like it was written and loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Bennett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is torte always get compliments and requests for the recipe whenever I serve it. I have been making it for years. It is delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Made it per direction, pretty good. Thin slice the apples and double the cream cheese filling, the best apple pie cheesecake I've had. Also good with pears as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crookston, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
The temperature is too high. Next timeI will try on 375 o 350 at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Yummmmy! Yummmmy! Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lizz
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this over the weekend and it was great (husband had two pieces!) I took advice of reviews and this is what I came up with: Used the original crust but doubled the cheese filling while adding 1/4 tsp. of almond extract with 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I think the key to tender apples is slicing thin, so I used four large HoneyCrisp and sliced about 1/8" thick also taking time to arrange them as evenly as possible in a circular pattern. I baked at 450 for 10 minutes and then turned oven down to 375 for about 40-45 minutes. I covered Torte the last 10 minutes so apples wouldn't over brown. We all thought the crisp/tender apples with the cheese filling was a terrific combination (if you want soft apples, make apple pie). Thanks everyone for the comments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this for Christmas Eve as a dessert everyone loved it especially my husband he couldn't wait to have it for breakfast too I followed the recipe exactly no changes and I found it to be quite easy thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States