Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Made this for a card club get together. Tasted good, and I got requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julieka

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
AMAZING! Very similar to those that I had growing up in Germany. For those that are saying that there is too much crust or that the apples are not cooked enough, they obviously don't know what a bavarian torte is, and were just expecting an apple pie. The only change I made was instead of tossing the apples in so much sugar, I just sprinkled the cinnamon on top and cut the sugar to about 2 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Very good. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and microwaved the apples for about 2 minutes. I doubled all the rest of the recipe and used an 11in spring form tart pan. I had to turn my oven down quite a bit and cooked a little longer, so not to scorch the top. It turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SheilaP1
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Well, here's a strange one. My husand HATES butter - won't eat anything with butter in it, even if he can't taste it - just knowing there's butter in something will keep him away. So I didn't tell him there was butter in the crust and was nervous because I found it very buttery tasting - but he loved it and didn't mention anything about it being buttery tasting. I asked him to rate it and he gave it 5 stars!! The irony is I LOVE butter - and yet I found the crust tasted much too buttery and the filling was just OK. I gave it 3 stars. I've made much better desserts. So I chose the happy medium and gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
recommend making the crust thicker to get more of the taste. Also be sure to microwave the apples long enough before baking them so that they are softer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Delicious!! I did microwave the apples as suggested, and doubled the cream mixture to make more layers. So good, made it for Christmas desert and my family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodell Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This was a wonderful dessert! My family raved about it! I used a mixture of canned pears and 1 large Granny Smith apple. I also used almond extract in place of the vanilla and did not include the almonds. I baked this in a tart pan to make a prettier edge crust. Beautiful presentation and delicious to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I scaled it down for two portions and didn't use a springform pan. I also used blackberries instead of apples. I cooked them for a few minutes in water, sugar, and cinnamon before I topped the cream cheese mixture. I also left out the almonds. I am looking forward to trying this with different types of fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetotravel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Pretty tasty. I only used three granny smith apples, but should have used at least one more. I doubled the cinnamon/sugar. I put the almonds on before baking, and they turned out okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This was a wonderful not-to-sweet dessert (and breakfast item) that was easy to convert to a gluten free recipe. The only change was three large apples (2 Gala and 1 Golden Delicious) and baked in a 9 inch square pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States