Apple Bavarian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I have been making this for years. It started in high school, when I had to make something Bavarian for German class. Little did I know it would be so popular. When someone is having a party, they request this torte. I make it every Thanksgiving and most New Year's Eves, but it is good any time of the year. It *does* fall apart, some of the times when I make it, but who cares? It still tastes good. Once, I tried baking the crust first, to avoid this, and the end result wasn't as good. It should be a soft shortbread crust. The only changes I've ever made is to add brown sugar to the apple mix, and I rarely add the almonds. It *is* a lot of apples, but I personally like it that way. No one has ever complained, but I'm sure it would still taste good if you opted to use less apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This was so good. I can't believe how easy it was to make. The only thing I changed was I doubled the sugar in the cream cheese mixture. Wonderful! I also made it with fresh peaches and it was great, too. One thing, do not double the recipe. It takes to long to cook in the middle and will burn before it is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Longton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brugge, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This was great! I made it for a Christmas dessert and got rave reviews from everyone. It was perfect the way it was, I didn't change a thing (well, I didn't have any almonds, so I had to leave those off). Some other reviewers suggested pre-cooking apples, but I did not do that. I followed the recipe as written and felt the apples were perfect. Hope you enjoy this as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Lakes, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shayla
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This dessert is awesome! I followed another's advice and used canned pears instead of the apples, and I doubled the filling. One other change is that i used 1.5X the crust. Delicious! Everyone loved it. One problem that I ran into is the cooking time. At the end of the 25 minutes, mine was still quite jiggly in the middle. I ended up doubling the time the pie had to bake, perhaps because of the increased mass. Definitely try this one, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I thought this was a pretty good cake. I didn't really like the crust though. Otherwise, I followed the suggestions of other reviewers.. I microwaved my 6 apples for 3 minutes before adding them on top of the cream cheese mixture. I accidently put the almonds on at the beginning of the baking, and they turned out great. It fed 5 people nicely. Coincidently, my mother actually made the same cake earlier in the week but used cherries instead of apples. She absolutely loved that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This is one of the best cheesecake desserts i've ever made! It has been a big hit with anyone who eats it. I usually lay the apples in a spiral pattern and sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top when it's right out of the oven for a wonderful presentation. I like to use red delicious apples because they're not bitter but sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This looked beautiful...but the crust came out completely burned, I think 350 for the full time would have been plenty hot. Also, the cream cheese layer was not nearly sweet enough and I only used 3 very small apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAREMARE312

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I made this using 2 cans of pears (no sugar added) and doubled the cheese mixture. It was a very pretty dessert and tasted wonderful. I can't imagine not doubling the cheese filling though; it seems like it would be way too much crust and fruit in comparison. I baked it 15 minutes at 450 and 35 minutes at 400 in a 9" springform pan and it was perfect. I didn't find it overly sweet or rich and I have to agree with a previous reviewer, it's even better the next day straight out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Delicious!! Followed other's advice and microwaved the apples for 3 minutes first and it worked great. Great dessert - I'll be making it again for New Year's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 171-180 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Apple Crisp II

This satisfying warm dessert goes perfectly with vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States