Apple Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe. Easy to make and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
These turned out great! I will definitely make these again. I used Granny Smith apples as others suggested. I let the bars cool and didn't have any trouble with them falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Oh my goodness, this is absolutely to DIE for good. I used some random cheap apple that was going to go bad on me, and instead of greasing/flouring I used baking spray on my dish, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly, and this is SO good. It reminds me of the apple cake my mom used to make but lost the recipe for! I'm already imagining raisins, peanut butter, coconut, pears, lots and lots of variations :) Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
Mm these were all right. Not the best. I was disappointed that they didn't look like the bar in the picture, which looks really delicious. As other reviewers have pointed out, these are extremely cakey, and even with an added dash of nutmeg and a bit of maple syrup, they still would've been bland if not for the apples. I even added an extra bit of cinnamon, but they still weren't all that flavourful. They were moist, but held together well, and I used two cups of apples. I didn't finely chop them since I wanted to be able to clearly taste the apple, since it's my favourite fruit... Oh well. They still taste good, just not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am an experienced baker; I followed this recipe carefully and was not pleased at all with the results. The consistancy is not muffin-like or cake-like, in all honesty they tasted greasy and burnt. I am still looking for a recipe for apple bars that is moist and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I loved these bars. I did substitute the butter with a half cup of olive oil for baking, and used a little less than two thirds cup suger, and upped the chopped apples to one and a half cups. So easy and so very good. I will make them again, thats for sure. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is probably the easiest desert I have ever made an it is absolutely delicious. I love that the ingredients are things that I almost always have on hand. It's cold and snowy out today and I wanted to make my family a treat but I did not want to head out in the snow to go to the grocery store. I stumbled across this recipe and am I glad I did. I followed it to a "T" and was rewarded with a yummy warm desert for very little effort. Served it with whipped cream...my hubby and six-year old both had two helpings...5 stars!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These were easy and very good. I doubled the recipe as others suggested and used a 9x13 pan and was glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Delicious!Definitely double the recipe though I don't know how this recipe is supposed to make 16 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arroyo Grande, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
These are really good & easy to make. I doubled the recipe & it was gone within a day! Would use more apples next time. Texture reminds me more of apple muffins- without the mess of making muffins! Will definately make these again & again. They were loved by kids & adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States