Apple Banana Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Very moist and tasty, with a great texture. We used honey instead of sugar and doubled the apples. Made 12 cupcakes and one loaf of bread. The nutmeg is a little strong, might cut that back next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Giving only four stars since I did make a couple changes. I used applesauce instead of shortening, made buttermilk substitute from milk and lemon jc and used slightly less nutmeg. These turned out great. I just used a cheese grated for the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made this on a whim. I had one banana and one apple, so I cut the recipe in half. Used butter instead of shortening, and didn't have buttermilk. The rest I made as written, including grating the apple. Very good! I didn't use any topping, and I really don't think it needs any. I could even cut down on the sugar if I made it again. Moist and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Made these for a coworkers birthday and everyone in the office loved them! I substituted butter for the shortening and 1/4 cup milk + 3/4 cup plain yogurt for the buttermilk. They were really moist and delicious. Not too sweet. More like muffins than cupcakes. Will definitely bake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Audish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nadine
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Wow family loved this recipe. The recipe does not say what size or kind of apple to use so I had used two large Jazz (at least label on the apples say will check on proper name later). Found that batter was very thick may have over beat the shortening. I had made 12 cupcakes and one 8 inch round cake. Found that they were moist and full of flavour and not one ingredient overpowered the other. Just used basic butter/cream cheese frosting but used banana extract instead of vanilla extract. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
"A" for awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Very good, so moist and soft! The picture shows a lot of frosting but they were delicious with no kind of topping or glaze. I don't like to leave a rating when I alter the recipe but in this case I didn't have buttermilk or milk. It was such a small amount and they were still fine as one other comment mentioned. The apples make them just different enough from banana bread to make it worth while. Yes, I shredded the apple, the recipe needed the moisture from the shredded apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imapep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
These are delicious. I halved the recipe and made it as written except i used coconut milk, i forgot to add the lemon juice to make it into buttermilk, but i don`t think that had any effect on the taste. I added nothing to the top, but to me it was more muffin then cupcake. The flavors are very nice, and will make these again. Thank you Barbara for this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Light, fluffly, moist cupcakes. This is the recipe I've been looking for. It's almost a foolproof recipe. I modified it with 1 cup AP flour, 1 cup cake flour, 2/3 canola oil instead of shortening, 1/4 cup soured soy milk (with 1/2 tsp vinegar) instead of buttermilk, 1 mashed banana instead of 1 cup, and 3 apples instead of 2. I think they needed more flavour, like more cinnamon and swapping out some white sugar for brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Amazing! Perfect texture- although I'm not sure why they're called cupcakes. They are definitely muffins. Delicious flavor. Followed the recipe exactly. DEFINITELY making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Joy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Cupcakes

Dairy-free cupcakes flavored with vanilla extract and coconut oil.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States