Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I make this every year at Christmas and it is always a hit! The only change I make is sautéing the onions and celery with the bacon. This soup is definitely tastier the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I found this to be odd tasting. It was not a hit in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This was a huge hit! I read the reviews and decided to sauté the celery, onion and garlic in the bacon grease, halve the beef stock with apple cider, and swap the pinto beans for kidney beans. It is simple to make and has very rich and complex flavors. I was afraid it would be too sweet, but it absolutely wasn't. This is going on the Fall/Winter Comfort Food menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was pretty good. I was worried about the amount of salt, so I used no salt added tomatoes and then just added a teaspoon of italian seasoning. I also used reduced sodium beans and I didn't add any additional salt at the end. I did find that I needed to use the whole container of beef stock though, so I'm guessing I ended up doubling the amount of liquid, to get the consistency that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This soup is fantastic - we love it, but the servings are definitely off (especially if you are eating this as a main course). I set the servings for 8 and it really only made 3 servings (my husband and I ate it for dinner with grilled cheese and had one meal-sized portion left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Not any one flavor was predominant; they all blended well. I used a jar of canned tomatoes from last summer, so I added 1 tsp. of dried Italian seasonings. Also used kidney beans since I didn't have pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a very long time. Much to my disappointment, it was bland and more bean flavored than anything else. I could not taste the bacon or apples. I usually give a recipe two tries just to be fair but this one won't make the second cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Finally! A unique soup for me to try on a crisp fall day…I get so bored with the usual soup recipes. This isn’t anything crazy by any means. Its just a nice little combo of ingredients and flavors that work very nicely together. I also love that the bacon in the recipe is drained and you actually don’t use the drippings (while that would be delicious, Im sure) but instead use olive oil to sauté the onions and garlic. It makes for a bit healthier soup and with all the great flavors you don’t miss out on anything anyway. I actually used canned dice tomatoes instead of stewed to cut down on the sugar. Instead a added a light drizzle of maple syrup to the pot to add a touch of natural sweetness. With the apples and the apple smoked bacon I used it was a fantastic pairing. Excellent soup! Give it a try:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was intrigued by the combination of the ingredients. I used the bacon grease to sauté the onions and garlic, otherwise I followed the recipe. The aroma is incredible. The blend of flavors delicious. I will definitely make this again. It's an impressive soup to serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States