Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This was a fabulous soup! I served it at a dinner party and everyone wanted the recipe. A bit time intensive, but totally worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
I have mad this soup twice now. Both times I've made it, very picky eaters have asked for thirds, this is one of the best tasting soups I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Ysbrand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Good N Easy. Next time I will sauté the Celery with the onion and garlic so it's not quite so crunchy. Of course, bacon flavors so many things wonderfully. But, I think this would even be good without the bacon, for a lot less fat. Love the apples cooked in wine. That gives me lots of ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
This soup blends the best flavors for a wintry day. I used sherry in lieu of red wine and it worked fine. However, I also recommend not draining the can of pinto beans because the added juice stretches the dish. Loved it madly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This recipe is absolutely wonderful! I would definitely double the recipe, however, as it served 6 women a cup-sized portion and we all WANTED MORE!!! It is better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Easy and delicious! did not change a thing! My family loved it! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
The best tomato soup I have ever had!! Husband & boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was definitely an odd combination. Actually, I found this recipe by searching on the random ingredients I had left over from preparing a meal last week. It was actually very good -- though I left out the celery and substituted kidney beans for pinto. Unfortunately I boiled the apple in cooking wine, and along with the bacon and beef stock, this made for a slightly-too-salty soup. But I'd do it again (with unsalted wine!) for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This is a great, hearty soup! Very layered and complex flavors, yet pretty simple to make. The morning of meal, I prepared the recipe up to the point of adding the apple/wine/bacon mixture into the soup. Then, I combined everything in my slow cooker. About an hour before serving, I plugged in the slow cooker and set it on low. Very good, and very Italian-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This is a really good recipe...my boyfriend loved it...but I would double it next time...It only made four big bowls.....The red wine is great in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States