Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was I used a maple syrup flavored bacon instead of regular. Everyone I served it to raved about it and wanted to know where I got the recipe. This is a foolproof recipe that will be a hit with whoever you serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! Based on reviews, here's what I did-- used 7 slices of bacon, then drained about half of the bacon fat and used the remaining to saute the celery, onion and garlic. I used only 1 can of beef broth (which is 2 oz. shy of the recipe) since that's all I had on hand. I used a honeycrisp apple that had been in my fridge a little too long and diced it about the size of the onions. I used a cabernet for the red wine. I did not drain the beans which made the soup thicker (I like it that way) and cut up the big pieces of tomatoes with kitchen shears after they had been added them to the soup. Added 2 bay bay leaves and didn't add any salt or pepper. Will make it exactly the same next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So yummy! I used chicken broth instead of beef and white wine instead of red- changed nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
LOVED this soup! Like others, I sauteed the onions, garlic and celery in the bacon grease, and pureed the canned tomatoes for a smoother consistency. Other than that, the recipes is perfect. Even better left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe was quite delicious and I will definitely make it again. I am a soup lover and love how adventurous this soup is, ingredients I would not have thought of using in a soup together turned out quite wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup wasn't anything special. Very bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
MmmmMmmmm, Good! Kind of a mellow soup. Very nice blend of flavors. I did a teetotaler's version, but crushed some grapes in with the apples and 1/4 cup water to make up for absence of wine. Still, though, an excellent soup, I'm sure either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This is an unusual blend of flavors that combine to make a delicious soup. I made it as directed except that I sauteed the celery with the onion and I added a little more beef stock. A nice way to use fall apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
This is pretty yummy. I added a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar to balance the acidity of the canned tomatoes. It's one of those dishes that, once you start, will leave you returning for "just one more spoonful." I will be adding this to my regular household menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This was easy, delicious and filling. I will for sure make this more this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States