Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
What a great find! I was just looking for a recipe that used what I had on hand, and ended up with a truly delicious soup. Minor changes: I used canned black beans and homemade stewed tomatoes; I sauteed the celery with the onion & garlic; I added a splash of half'n'half just to make it a little creamy. We will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good! The only changes I made were to saute the celery and onion in some of the bacon drippings. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a delicious soup, almost the consistency of a stew, with a slighly smoky flavor. The only problem that I had with it is that the recipe doesn't make enough! I made it to have for lunch for the week and it was only enough for 1 night, with my family. Make sure you double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
My boyfriends favorite soup. Id say with all the prep, this took me about 1.5 hours from start to finish, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This is an AWESOME recipe! I followed the recipe almost exactly. The only change I made was I used a maple syrup flavored bacon instead of regular. Everyone I served it to raved about it and wanted to know where I got the recipe. This is a foolproof recipe that will be a hit with whoever you serve it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious! Based on reviews, here's what I did-- used 7 slices of bacon, then drained about half of the bacon fat and used the remaining to saute the celery, onion and garlic. I used only 1 can of beef broth (which is 2 oz. shy of the recipe) since that's all I had on hand. I used a honeycrisp apple that had been in my fridge a little too long and diced it about the size of the onions. I used a cabernet for the red wine. I did not drain the beans which made the soup thicker (I like it that way) and cut up the big pieces of tomatoes with kitchen shears after they had been added them to the soup. Added 2 bay bay leaves and didn't add any salt or pepper. Will make it exactly the same next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So yummy! I used chicken broth instead of beef and white wine instead of red- changed nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
LOVED this soup! Like others, I sauteed the onions, garlic and celery in the bacon grease, and pureed the canned tomatoes for a smoother consistency. Other than that, the recipes is perfect. Even better left over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This recipe was quite delicious and I will definitely make it again. I am a soup lover and love how adventurous this soup is, ingredients I would not have thought of using in a soup together turned out quite wonderful. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This soup wasn't anything special. Very bland in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States