Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Ok.. so this is definitely the best soup I've ever had in my life.. I did make several changes though but the outcome was so phenomenal that I simply have to share. I followed the recipe exactly. At the end, to spruce it up a bit, I added 1 and 1/2 T chili powder, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, 1 t of cinnamon, 2 T of brown sugar and grated some nutmeg. I also added one jalapeno pepper with seeds and the result was outstanding. Very spicy but very good. Try it both ways if you like spice, you will love it. This is now my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Made the recipe exactly. My husband and I didn't love this. The flavour was good, but perhaps the texture threw us off. Maybe we'd like it as a blended soup, may try again. Rated it four because of flavour, but would have rated 3 because of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This was ok, but not one of our favorites. I'm sure it's just a matter of taste, but to us it reminded us of a slightly sweet minestrone. We all ate our servings, but no one went back for seconds and no one wanted to save the leftovers. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I've been wanting to make this for quite some time and I'm glad I finally did. Try it for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious and filling! I didn't have the red wine, so I used sherry, but the flavor was still great. We ate ours on a snowy day with smoked gouda grilled cheese sandwiches - fantastic and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I needed more broth than the recipe called for and I honestly didn't think the apple added much positive to the soup. It was better the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
People dig when I make this soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilgowilco

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Corinth, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My husband was skeptical, but after trying it, he rated it pretty good. The wine gave the apples a sickly color. Probably won't make it all the time, but it was a fun recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We liked it. It was very good! That being said, I've only made it the one time. Its not a part of my regular soup rotation. Still looking for recipes to join that circuit! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephiejo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
What a great find! I was just looking for a recipe that used what I had on hand, and ended up with a truly delicious soup. Minor changes: I used canned black beans and homemade stewed tomatoes; I sauteed the celery with the onion & garlic; I added a splash of half'n'half just to make it a little creamy. We will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very good! The only changes I made were to saute the celery and onion in some of the bacon drippings. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States