Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and it is nearly impossible to make something that both my husband and daughter like, this was a hit. Very flavorful and filling with few calories and NO carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
When I saw this, I was skeptical but decided to try it after reading the reviews. This soup was fantastic! My family grumbled when I told them but everybody went back for seconds. I took other reviewers suggestions and sauted the onion, garlic and celery in the bacon grease. I also doubled the bacon and used a granny smith apple. This will definitely be a regular meal in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was feeling lazy so I tried this with Trader Joes low sodium tomato soup (qt) and Merlot. Added a little extra bacon and no broth. It had a rich creamy consistency and oh so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved this!! I did add 2 apples instead of one, and only had light red kidney beans so I used those instead of pinto... but this was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
This recipe sounds yummy and the reviews are encouraging. I haven't made it and have two questions: 1) do I drain and rinse the beans and 2) what can I use as a substitute for the wine? Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This soup is amazing! The apples made a nice contrast to the salty bacon. It's like a party in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I love this soup, I've made it several times, once for a party. It's interesting and unique, but simple enough to appease picky tastes. I make 3 small changes: 1. Saute the onions and garlic in a few tbsps of the reserved bacon grease 2. Replace 1 cup of the beef stock with APPLE CIDER! 3. Throw everything into a crock pot for 6 hours on low after the browning the onion/garlic. Just makes the process a bit easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This soup is truly amazing. It is a little labor intensive but you will definitely be rewarded with a soup that is awesome the first day but amazing the third day. It is fine the way it is but I added a little fennel and sautéed all the veg in the bacon grease and also added a little apple juice when simmering. This took it absolutely over the top. This is one you will want to double if not triple. None will go to waste, trust me. This also makes a great braising liquid for pork tenderloin as well. Made a fantastic Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Mercy this soup is excellent! I followed some other suggestions and used bacon grease i/o olive oil to saute the onion, garlic AND celery. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States