Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a good soup, but after reading all of the glowing reviews, I expected more. I made it one day and ate it the next day...knowing that soup gets better with "age". However, it just tasted like homemade soup...nothing to die for. I don't taste the apple or the wine for that matter. I will probably look for other recipes rather than make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made as written it is a very flavorful hearty stew. The flavor of apple does indeed come out much more the following day, while the first day the tomatoes take over which is still very tasty. It does not make a lot of soup. There's very little liquid to support it serving 8. My big stock pot was barely 1/4 full and we were able to get two and a half bowls total which is not nearly enough. If you like lots of soup so you can eat some now and freeze some for later, consider quadrupling this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
SOOOOO good. Thanks for putting this recipe in your email yesterday; I probably wouldn't have found it by searching that particular set of ingredients! Like other reviewers, I used the bacon fat to saute the onions, garlic and celery, and used the soup pot to cook the bacon, as well. Why dirty three pots instead of two? I doubled the recipe, as I'm going out of the country, and wanted some to freeze for my husband, as well as leftovers for me! I also used cannelini (Italian white beans) instead of pintos, because I'm not fond of the everlasting crunchiness of pintos. My local Super Target didn't have stewed tomatoes of any kind, so I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, and threw in a sweet pepper from my garden. It was plenty salty from the canned produce and the bacon, so didn't need any added salt. The apples were so beautiful simmering in the red wine that I almost hated to put them in, but oh! they added another layer of tasty goodness to this simple and warming soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My husband and I both liked this. I did a few minor changes for convenience and to use what I had in the house. I used white cooking wine instead of red and regular stewed tomatoes which I pulsed in the blender, and I added about 1/4 tsp basil and 1/4 tsp oregano. I increased the bacon to 7 slices so I could crumble some on top of each serving. I chopped the apple instead of slicing it. I put the broth spices and tomatoes and beans in the slow cooker on high while I cooked the bacon then sauteed the onion and celery in 1 TBL of the bacon fat. I added the veggies to the slow cooker and simmered the apples in the cooking wine. When softened I added them to the crock pot and crumbled 5 pieces of bacon into the soup ( saving the extra I made for garnish) and let it cook while I made garlic bread. To serve I crumbled 1/4 slice of bacon on top of each soup bowl. Next time, and there will be a next time, I am going to add the apple to the sauteed onions and celery after 10 minutes then add the wine and let them all simmer for about 8-10 minutes, before adding to the slow cooker. I turned the slow cooker down to low until ready to serve. This is so good, expect people to have seconds, maybe thirds. I served this with garlic bread and a side salad with sherbet for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraMN51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very good soup, very flavorful with or without the wine. I will be making this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
I added a can of condensed tomato soup during the final simmer....I think it added needed extra thickness and flavor to broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Boerner Lay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Unexpectedly good blend of flavors. Easy to make with left over bacon or I could imagine it with diced chicken sausage instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I did change the recipe a bit so I guess i'm not rating the exact recipe but this was amazing. I double this recipe plus I added 2 extra cups of beef broth (6 all together), didn't have minced garlic so used 6 fresh cloves instead, didn't double the wine or apple (next time I will double it just didn't have enough wine to double!), and I also added maybe 2 slices of bacon only to the soup and used the rest for garnish as I find then you can add the amount you want (and the bacon stays crispy). I also didn't have any pinto beans so I added a can of red kidney beans and a can of chick peas...turned out very yummy! Also used the suggestions to use the bacon grease to fry the onion, celery, and garlic. I recommend this lots and lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaizer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have made several "new for me" soups this winter. This is my absolute favorite, and, for a meat and potatoes guy, that says allot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This soup was a lot easier to make than I first thought. I did not have bacon so I used panchetta instead. With a splash of some good hot sause it was great. Served with bisquits to sop up the soup. Will try again with bacon to see how much the flavor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States