Apple Bacon Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This soup is fantastic - we love it, but the servings are definitely off (especially if you are eating this as a main course). I set the servings for 8 and it really only made 3 servings (my husband and I ate it for dinner with grilled cheese and had one meal-sized portion left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Not any one flavor was predominant; they all blended well. I used a jar of canned tomatoes from last summer, so I added 1 tsp. of dried Italian seasonings. Also used kidney beans since I didn't have pinto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have been wanting to make this for a very long time. Much to my disappointment, it was bland and more bean flavored than anything else. I could not taste the bacon or apples. I usually give a recipe two tries just to be fair but this one won't make the second cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Finally! A unique soup for me to try on a crisp fall day…I get so bored with the usual soup recipes. This isn’t anything crazy by any means. Its just a nice little combo of ingredients and flavors that work very nicely together. I also love that the bacon in the recipe is drained and you actually don’t use the drippings (while that would be delicious, Im sure) but instead use olive oil to sauté the onions and garlic. It makes for a bit healthier soup and with all the great flavors you don’t miss out on anything anyway. I actually used canned dice tomatoes instead of stewed to cut down on the sugar. Instead a added a light drizzle of maple syrup to the pot to add a touch of natural sweetness. With the apples and the apple smoked bacon I used it was a fantastic pairing. Excellent soup! Give it a try:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I was intrigued by the combination of the ingredients. I used the bacon grease to sauté the onions and garlic, otherwise I followed the recipe. The aroma is incredible. The blend of flavors delicious. I will definitely make this again. It's an impressive soup to serve guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was a good soup, but after reading all of the glowing reviews, I expected more. I made it one day and ate it the next day...knowing that soup gets better with "age". However, it just tasted like homemade soup...nothing to die for. I don't taste the apple or the wine for that matter. I will probably look for other recipes rather than make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Made as written it is a very flavorful hearty stew. The flavor of apple does indeed come out much more the following day, while the first day the tomatoes take over which is still very tasty. It does not make a lot of soup. There's very little liquid to support it serving 8. My big stock pot was barely 1/4 full and we were able to get two and a half bowls total which is not nearly enough. If you like lots of soup so you can eat some now and freeze some for later, consider quadrupling this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
SOOOOO good. Thanks for putting this recipe in your email yesterday; I probably wouldn't have found it by searching that particular set of ingredients! Like other reviewers, I used the bacon fat to saute the onions, garlic and celery, and used the soup pot to cook the bacon, as well. Why dirty three pots instead of two? I doubled the recipe, as I'm going out of the country, and wanted some to freeze for my husband, as well as leftovers for me! I also used cannelini (Italian white beans) instead of pintos, because I'm not fond of the everlasting crunchiness of pintos. My local Super Target didn't have stewed tomatoes of any kind, so I used Italian seasoned diced tomatoes, and threw in a sweet pepper from my garden. It was plenty salty from the canned produce and the bacon, so didn't need any added salt. The apples were so beautiful simmering in the red wine that I almost hated to put them in, but oh! they added another layer of tasty goodness to this simple and warming soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
My husband and I both liked this. I did a few minor changes for convenience and to use what I had in the house. I used white cooking wine instead of red and regular stewed tomatoes which I pulsed in the blender, and I added about 1/4 tsp basil and 1/4 tsp oregano. I increased the bacon to 7 slices so I could crumble some on top of each serving. I chopped the apple instead of slicing it. I put the broth spices and tomatoes and beans in the slow cooker on high while I cooked the bacon then sauteed the onion and celery in 1 TBL of the bacon fat. I added the veggies to the slow cooker and simmered the apples in the cooking wine. When softened I added them to the crock pot and crumbled 5 pieces of bacon into the soup ( saving the extra I made for garnish) and let it cook while I made garlic bread. To serve I crumbled 1/4 slice of bacon on top of each soup bowl. Next time, and there will be a next time, I am going to add the apple to the sauteed onions and celery after 10 minutes then add the wine and let them all simmer for about 8-10 minutes, before adding to the slow cooker. I turned the slow cooker down to low until ready to serve. This is so good, expect people to have seconds, maybe thirds. I served this with garlic bread and a side salad with sherbet for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebraMN51

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States