Apple, Avocado and Hearts of Palm Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2005
Although I didn't use the dressing (stuck to ranch) the flavors in the salad were wonderful. My boyfriend was skeptical of the apple in the salad, but he ended up having seconds and so did I. The creamy avocado, tangy hearts of palm and sweet apple blend together so well. I used extra avocado and cut the apple down to one. I think it would also taste good with some crumbly cheese like bleu or goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea  Alexander

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
Very tasty dressing. Although I only used a small portion. If I had used the whole dressing, the salad would have been soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I agree that the dressing is rather like 1000-Island, but being made with fresh ingredients was a bit tangier than bottled. The combination of apple, avocado and hearts was enjoyed even by teenagers! Just go light on the dressing and not smother the taste of the apples and avocados.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I loved the textures and different flavors of this salad. I cut the apple down to one and I did not have granny smith apples so I used red delicious instead, it was still great! The dressing was fine, I certainly prefer fresh over bottled so I would not suggest using Thousand island like some others have. I did however prefer the salad with a simple dash of olive oil and vinegar, salt and pepper…There are so many wonderful flavors going on in this salad, not much dressing is really needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
couldn't' find hearts of palm so used bamboo shoots in a pinch. still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
Probably easier to use Thousand island dressing than making it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2001
This was OK, but nothing special. The dressing, which is like 1000 Island dressing, was fine, but did not go well with the apples and the Hearts of Palm. The dressing has too much mayo, I think - it was a bit overpowering. However, the dressing was good as a dip for the avocado slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
I was very excited to try this recipe because of the interesting combination of ingredients, all of which I love. However, it just didn't have the OOMPH I expected from it. The recipe called for way too much dressing, and was too sweet but still bland. I can't put my finger on what this salad needs, but I would definitely try it again with some alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Autumn Apple Salad II

This simple salad is tart, sweet, crisp, and refreshing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States