Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Super yummy, I can't stop eating them! I changed a few things to make this a softer cookie: instead of apple juice I used apple cider and I added 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce, I also used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup of splenda. I also omitted the raisins and used 3/4 cup pecans instead of walnuts. This recipe turned out delicious and is perfect for a vegan like me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
A nice spicy cookie which my kids really enjoyed. I modified the recipe by using dried cranberries instead of raisins, substituting whole wheat flour for half the white (and adding a little extra liquid to compensate), and putting a few drops of lemon icing sugar glaze on the top of each cookie. I also didn't add nuts because my kids have nut sensitive friends. Excellent, but it took a little longer to cook than the recipe indicated. I would try the recipe again with slightly less brown sugar (maybe only a cup), slightly less fat, and all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I love apples and raisins together. Put it in a cookie this good and a way you go. I can't keep the cookie jar full everybody gobbles them all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
These cookies are so good, everyone who eats them asks for the recipe !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These were very good, like someone else suggested I also used apple cider. I also added a tsp. of vanilla and instead of chopping the apples, I grated them. They came out moist. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
The recipe tasted great!!!! I couldn't figure out the apple juice though, added it anyway. This recipe made a cookie more like a crisp than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have beenbaking like crazy as i had 40 pounds of apples to get rid of. By far this is the best apple recipe I baked!!!!! I didnt add raisins, but added a 1/4 cup more chopped apples, to die for!!!!! I never added apple juice, it never said when and they still turned out, batter was a thick and a bit dry but once you scooped out and rolled in your palms it worked well, i just smooched the balls a bit and on parchment paper, came out perfect!!!!! took them to work, they were gone in no time, and everyone requested recipe!!! LOVE THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cannot express how grateful I am for this recipe! My 2-year-old son is allergic to dairy, and my 1-year-old son is allergic to eggs, so I am always searching for milk-free, egg-free recipes! I also added dried cranberries instead of raisins, and used water instead of apple juice, as I didn't have any. However, 1/3 c. of liquid was not enough to make a dough. It was still dry and floury. I used 2/3 c. and that was a bit too much so maybe 1/2 c. ? This is a great fall cookie recipe and I'm sure will be a staple for my boys for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIELOVESKEITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was good cookie, it was on the running side. I added 1/2 Oatmeal 1 1/2 cups more of flour I Kitck it up.added 1 cup of chopped Dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these 2x. once i omitted the juice and added an egg. it was a more cakey cookie that way. Good both ways though. i did need to press the cookies down and flatten a little whithout the eggs in them they did not spread on there own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States