Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I have beenbaking like crazy as i had 40 pounds of apples to get rid of. By far this is the best apple recipe I baked!!!!! I didnt add raisins, but added a 1/4 cup more chopped apples, to die for!!!!! I never added apple juice, it never said when and they still turned out, batter was a thick and a bit dry but once you scooped out and rolled in your palms it worked well, i just smooched the balls a bit and on parchment paper, came out perfect!!!!! took them to work, they were gone in no time, and everyone requested recipe!!! LOVE THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
wow so good my coworkers love these cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Devon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Er, you left something out of this recipe! Didn't you forget to add the apple juice? I thought the cookies were fine, but probably will not make them again because I prefer crisper cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
These were very good, like someone else suggested I also used apple cider. I also added a tsp. of vanilla and instead of chopping the apples, I grated them. They came out moist. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
Super yummy, I can't stop eating them! I changed a few things to make this a softer cookie: instead of apple juice I used apple cider and I added 1/3 cup of unsweetened applesauce, I also used only 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup of splenda. I also omitted the raisins and used 3/4 cup pecans instead of walnuts. This recipe turned out delicious and is perfect for a vegan like me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadview Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I cannot express how grateful I am for this recipe! My 2-year-old son is allergic to dairy, and my 1-year-old son is allergic to eggs, so I am always searching for milk-free, egg-free recipes! I also added dried cranberries instead of raisins, and used water instead of apple juice, as I didn't have any. However, 1/3 c. of liquid was not enough to make a dough. It was still dry and floury. I used 2/3 c. and that was a bit too much so maybe 1/2 c. ? This is a great fall cookie recipe and I'm sure will be a staple for my boys for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIELOVESKEITH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great Recipe, thanks. I did modify by adding dried apricots and dried cherries and adding few tbsp of cheery juice. Also tried this with dried cranberries, was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
A nice spicy cookie which my kids really enjoyed. I modified the recipe by using dried cranberries instead of raisins, substituting whole wheat flour for half the white (and adding a little extra liquid to compensate), and putting a few drops of lemon icing sugar glaze on the top of each cookie. I also didn't add nuts because my kids have nut sensitive friends. Excellent, but it took a little longer to cook than the recipe indicated. I would try the recipe again with slightly less brown sugar (maybe only a cup), slightly less fat, and all whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
My daughter and I loved these cookies. I replaced the apple juice with red wine and used only 1/3 of the sugar and they turned out fantastic. I did not use the nuts because she is allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
We really loved these. One of my boys has severe allergies and this is the first cookie recipe that we have all enjoyed. They were worth the extra step of preparing the chopped apple. My only suggestion is to make sure you store them in an air tight container or they get hard like ginger snaps. I also used 3 teaspoons Cinnamon Plus instead of measuring the spices individually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baltzley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States