Apple and Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
What a great cookie! I did use apple cider and had to add a splash or two more of it. I think next time I will add a bit less cloves as I thought it was a bit much. Very easy cookie to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I had apples I needed to use up so I decided to try this recipe. I dove right in without reading any of the reviews, which is why I was stumped when the recipe didn't advise what to do with the apple juice. I ended up adding it with the nuts and apples. I followed the recipe exactly except I ommitted the raisins. I had serious doubts about how the cookies were going to turn out when the batter just didn't stay together well. As I rolled/patted/pieced mounds together on the cookie sheet, it reminded me of trying to mold wet sand. Keeping them together was a challenge, but they came out GREAT! They melt in your mouth with wonderful flavor! A note about the apple pieces--I think slivers or dicing would be OK, but mine still came out moist using rather large apple pieces. I wasn't sure if the apple was supposed to be peeled or not. Leaving the peel on turned out fine. Oh--and leave plenty of room between cookies. Those crumbly mounds really stretch out with baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I shredded the apples instead of chopping, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly...THEY WERE WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
These are great! I added the apple juice and some vanilla to the butter/sugar mix. No nuts, so I added an extra cup of apples. Make sure to let them cool before removing them or they'll fall apart. Great autumn recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I skipped the cloves, used apple cider instead of apple juice, skipped the nuts, and used Ocean Spray Craisins (cranberries) instead of raisins. Per another users' comment, I doubled the amount of apple cider since the mixture seemed extremely dry, but then I was concerned about it being too most, so I added in more flour. I also added one cup of applesauce and grated my apples. I also added some carmel bites. The cookies didn't look ANYTHING like the picture for some reason, but still tasted decent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
don't forget the liquid, and grate the apple, and the cookies will turn out wonderfully moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Wonderful--made them for my little twins with allergies, but couldn't keep them away from the big kids. Will need to double the recipe next time. I took the suggestion of shredding the apple instead of using chunks. I think it added a welcome bit of moisture to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Great Cookie! Though next time I'm going to cut the amount of sugar in half - it was waaaaaaay to sugary for me. I also just threw in the apple juice and as a result had to add lots more flour to get to the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I am out of eggs and wanted to bake cookies, so I thought I'd give this a try. Delicious cookie! I didn't have apple juice or shortening so I used a stick of softened butter and water. I shredded the apples instead of chopping. I used 2 Granny Smith apples. My house smells heavenly! I'm anxious to try them next time with dried cranberries. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCRASH3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I made these 2x. once i omitted the juice and added an egg. it was a more cakey cookie that way. Good both ways though. i did need to press the cookies down and flatten a little whithout the eggs in them they did not spread on there own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States