Apple and Sausage Cornbread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish there were 20 stars for this! We love this as a stuffing in between 2 pork chops. There is plenty for 6-8 chops (2 per stack)with a bit leftover in the pan. The flavor combo is great...I always replace the pork sausage w/the light breakfast sausage links to cut down on the fat content and the taste is great. Thanks for an awesome recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2001
This is scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Good recipe--very nice flavor. I left out the garlic and celery (don't care for celery), and used pepperidge farm corn bread stuffing mix (12 ozs)--also added a can of chicken broth. Next time I will leave out the apple, as I didn't think it really added very much to the stuffing. But the sausage (used country sausage), mushrooms and onion gave it an outstanding flavor. Will be making this again--next time I will add a little more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This stuffing was "to die for!" It was a huge hit, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
I made this recipe (adding 1 can of chicken broth and only one box of cornbread mix) and stuffed a pork loin with it. It was excellent and got raves at my daughter's country wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I use this recipe every year at Thanksgiving and it's perfect. It's sweet & savory all at the same time. Everyone always raves about it, and it's very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Tried this at Thanksgiving and it got rave reviews. Barely had any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Stuffing was a HUGE hit for Thanksgiving. The recipe was enough to stuff a large bird (19 lbs) with leftovers to bake in a pan. I also followed the suggestions of previous reviews in adding additional moisture--one egg and broth. Next time I make it the egg might be left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So I've prepared a very similar version my whole life, never dry! The difference is I chop the onion, celery and apple then boil gently till tender, adding water as needed. It does take about 90 minutes. Add the veggies, liquid and all, to the bread crumb mixture. Also, I use bulk sausage, usually Jimmy Dean hot, crumbled and fried till cooked through, and I don't drain the sausage. Ever. My mouth is watering as I type. I can almost guarantee you'll make this stuffing again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
An absolute favorite with the entire family! The only change made to the recipe was the addition of chicken broth which gave the desired moistness. This dish will be a regular part of our family dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Kentucky, USA
Living In: South Shore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States