Apple and Sausage Cornbread Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I added 2 eggs and a can of chicken broth. I'm thinking that a couple of liquid ingredients were missing from this recipe. But the end result was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
This was a really good recipe, but I had to change somethings around. Thank god I got a can of chicken stock at the store just incase, because it would've been to dry without it. Also, I used jimmy dean sausage instead and crumbled it into the mix. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
Good recipe--very nice flavor. I left out the garlic and celery (don't care for celery), and used pepperidge farm corn bread stuffing mix (12 ozs)--also added a can of chicken broth. Next time I will leave out the apple, as I didn't think it really added very much to the stuffing. But the sausage (used country sausage), mushrooms and onion gave it an outstanding flavor. Will be making this again--next time I will add a little more moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Great recipe. I thought it was too dry, so instead of adding chicken stock, I added a cup or so of organic apple juice, which was fantastic. I also used chicken sausage instead of pork sausage (less grease). Will definitely use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
I wish there were 20 stars for this! We love this as a stuffing in between 2 pork chops. There is plenty for 6-8 chops (2 per stack)with a bit leftover in the pan. The flavor combo is great...I always replace the pork sausage w/the light breakfast sausage links to cut down on the fat content and the taste is great. Thanks for an awesome recipe :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Very good, but I am glad that I read the suggestion to add liquid (I used a can of chicken broth). I omitted the mushrooms and added extra sausage and apples. I chopped the apples very coarsely so that taste would come through better. Makes lots. My family is not into non-traditional formats of familiar foods and even they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
This came out pretty dry. I had to add a lot of chicken stock and put it back in the oven. Plus it is way too much, cut it in half and add 2 to 3 cups of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
So I've prepared a very similar version my whole life, never dry! The difference is I chop the onion, celery and apple then boil gently till tender, adding water as needed. It does take about 90 minutes. Add the veggies, liquid and all, to the bread crumb mixture. Also, I use bulk sausage, usually Jimmy Dean hot, crumbled and fried till cooked through, and I don't drain the sausage. Ever. My mouth is watering as I type. I can almost guarantee you'll make this stuffing again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This stuffing was very good, however, I made these following changes: I used Jimmy Dean ground sausage (regular flavor) instead of the links, and I added two cans of the chicken broth (italian seasoning flavor) and one egg. Next time I will also omit the apple, since I didn't think it helped the dish at all. Otherwise very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holiday, Florida, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A good stuffing that smells great while cooking and tastes great with the meal. Followed the recipe and didn't have to make any changes, was perfectly moist, before and after cooking. Stuffed a turkey and cooked the remainder on the side. Everyone enjoyed and tastes good with leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States