Apple and Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is a good starting point. The first time I made it I found it needed more veggie. So the next time I added carrots and celery which made it much better. I also added two cinnamon sticks during the stewing time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I'm not a big beef stew person, so I should've known better than to try this. If I were to try it again, I'd add the apples towards the end (they were mush of nothing...depends on what you want), and skip the herbs, using only salt and pepper....to enjoy the cooked down wine flavor more. If you enjoy beef stew, I would bet you would enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
When I first added the red wine to the stew, it seemed like it might be a bit overpowering to the other flavors. After it simmered, it was delicious. I wouldn't hesitate to serve this uniquely flavored stew with popovers or cornbread and a mixed greens salad to dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I really enjoyed this dish. It was simple to make and tastes great. I didn't have the dried spices on hand and only used half the amount of basil. I also held off on adding the apple until the last 15 minutes of cooking. I would definitly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I cut down on the flour and used olive oil instead of butter - for health, not taste . :-) Also I find fresh apples fall apart too easily, so I use dried apple rings to avoid mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Excellent! Very flavorful and my picky husband and sone liked it. I did make a few changes for my family's tastes: skipped the flour dredge and just browned in canola oil; used white wine instead of red (that's all I had) and added an 8 oz can tomato sauce. I also used less onion and didn't use shallot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very nice stew. Made some changes based on what I had on hand - sweet yellow onion instead of red and no shallot. Used 1/2 cup of red wine so supplemented with splash of red wine vinegar. Husband didn't really like it, but doesn't like anything cooked with wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed this dish. Thanks so much for sharing! I made half the recipe which was about four servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very tasty. I followed the recipe, with the exception of adding the apples at the same time as the pork. I added them at the end. Mine came out very soupy. I had to add 1/2 cup of cold water and 4 TBS of flour to it to get it to stew thickness. Next time I will up the amount of pork to at least 1.25 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I made this with pork stock since I had a pork bone in the freezer. Simple but delicious. Spice combination was just right. I might try it with a cup of white wine next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States