Apple and Pear Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great tasting soup, the ginger really makes it good! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup is great as is, but could be improved. The original recipe is quite sweet and tangy which is good but I prefer a bit more savory. I made one batch exactly as written and found that I needed more so I made a half batch, adding an onion and using chicken stock instead of vegetable to make a more savory blend. When the two were mixed together it came out PERFECT! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilichristianson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashburnham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I love this soup! I used chicken broth instead because I didn't have vegetable broth. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great soup! I too used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I also added an onion...soup was a perfect blend of savory with just a hint of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Really easy, filling, unique. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This tasted like a heated up applesauce. I even used chicken stock and added onions like others suggested, but it was very sweet/tangy. Also thought it had too much ginger. Guess it just wasn't for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Okay so I had to modify this recipe even from the suggestions but a VERY good base recipe to start off with. Modifications I used: 7 Cups of water (I am strict vegetarian so chicken is out as is veggie broth b/c most contain some meat byproduct) 1 cup of yellow label freshly brewed tea (tannin's help kill sweetness) Ginger paste 1.5 teaspoons 1/4 Cup of cranberries 1 medium size onion 1 tablespoon of Italian seasoning (I didn't have bay leaves, sage, parsley on hand) Sounds strange with the tea but I have substituted tea a lot for broth and it always adds that extra flavor plain water doesn't have. Worth a shot, I enjoyed it as well as my hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I tweaked this recipe as others suggested. I used 3 tbls. of butter, and started sauteing the onion as I was peeling, coring and cutting the pears and apples. I used chicken broth as well. Still, it was a little too sweet for my taste. I did not want a dessert soup. When I was reheating it after pureeing it, I added more sage, pepper, and decided to throw some savory in there. It is perfect now according to hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States