Apple and Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This had a unique flavor and I changed a few things to use what I had. I juiced enough old tangerines I had skin and all and juiced enough cored apple. I did not have packaged onion soup so I used a can of french onion. Baked boneless skinned chicken breasts for 20 min at 350. Very moist and nice to have a different flavor. FYI Lipton cup-o-soup cream of chicken is in the soup isle. Pretty tasty and nice to have on a cold day for a little warm you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparks, Nevada, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This really didn't have much flavor and I even added a chopped apple and a chopped orange
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I was excited as I had all ingredients to make at home and it seemed easy. I did like others....and used cream of chicken soup to the recipe. I guess that I did not care for the orange citrus taste. The dish was edible so I did eat it and I wil probably take the left over chicken and make chicken salad or something. I did serve the chicken over rice which was a nice addition to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I loved this as a base, just added medium chunks of apples and oranges to the mix, did as others did and used a crock pot for 7-8 hours. 1 1/2 Tablespoon of cornstarch mixed with a little of the applejuice and added helps thicken it. The fresh ginger as suggested by others is a definite PLUS. I serve with Sweet Potatoes cut into cubes, sprayed with Trader Joe's Olive Oil Spray, cooked in microwave. I suppose you could add them to crock pot too, if you wish, but I like the flavors separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
this was very different from my usual dinners. to be honest, i wasn't sure i even liked it when i took that first bite. but after the third bite, i was hooked! i think this would be great with a stir fry over some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eutawville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
The chicken and sauce turned out great separately, but marinating or an alternate serving method is required. The chicken didn't take up any of the sauce's flavor as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I was a little weary of this recipe at first because of the variety of ingredients but it turned out alright. I personally think this would be better as a marinade and then put on the grill. I think it would bring out the flavors nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This chicken was splendid! I threw it all in the crockpot, and it was ready by the time my parents got home from work. I would recommend this served with mashed potatoes or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Really good. I used a "can" of cream of chicken and half the packet of onion soup mix. NEXT TIME I will make some wild rice with and pour the sauce over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeekysMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I read the reviews and tried to suggestions. Still the sauce was almost liquid, the chicken had no flavor of fruit or any of the spices. It was so disappointing, especially after taking all that time to cook. I'm honestly mad that I wasted good chicken on a crappy recipe when I have so many good chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Chris' Grilled Orange Chicken

This citrus marinade makes chicken moist and tender on the grill.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States