Apple and Onion Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Mmm, this was super tasty. We even forgot to saute the onions and garlic, but it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Skye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Great Dressing. More like a stuffing I think. But it was great. We made it with butterfly pork chops. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving last year and it has become a request for every big family meal we have. Kids and Grandparents alike love it. i sometimes use dried Crandberries instead of Raisins. They give it a real zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This dressing is wonderful! I cut down the amount of butter in it by 1/2 (trying to be health conscious), and added some chicken broth (as others suggested). I cooked it in the chicked and it was wonderful! will definetly use many more times! I also used 1/2 golden raisins and 1/2 dark raisin b/c i ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
very very good. followed recipe except we used dried cranberries instead of the raisins. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
YUM! I make this stuffing every year now for Thanksgiving and it's always a hit. Use whole wheat bread for a nutty flavour. Add about 1/4 cup of chicken broth otherwise it's too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I made this for Christmas dinner and it was pretty good, but not as good as I had hoped. If you follow the recipe as written, it makes a LOT of dressing-- definitely more than will fit into a 2 quart baking dish (8x8) as the recipe calls for. I put it in a 9x13 pan an it was almost too much for that! I used a 16 oz package of Pepperidge Farm stuffing mix (right at 7 cups) and a little less butter (I poured some pan juices from my baked chicken over it) but otherwise followed the rest of the recipe pretty closely. The apple in it was very good and that's what my husband particularly enjoyed. Sunmaid now makes "baking raisins" which are already plumped up-- no need for soaking, which was very convenient. I think if I try this again I'll make only half and will try to use plain bread cubes instead. It was good, just not as yummy as I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I used dried cranberries instead of raisins in this and it was great. I served it with Christmas dinner and it was very festive looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I love that you use raisins to make a sweet broth. I usually use about half cup of raisins and blend into a puree discard the rest and keep the liquidbroth- lending a subtle sweetness to the stuffing. It also means no one can get weirded out by cooked raisins as some people I know do (it's like sneaking vegetables in...). I also ramp up the seasoning depending on the crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
A quick shortcut is to use StoveTop stuffing and add all the fixin's to it. Taste great and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States