Apple and Onion Beef Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I guess I just don't like the mix of apple and onion. Maybe next time I would add finely chopped onion instead. I don't know. It's ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickaletta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was really good, I liked the tangy flavor the apples added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
We really enjoyed this recipe! I gave it four stars only because the apple flavor was not really there, but that may be because I didn't have tart apples on hand. However, I believe that the apples did produce the extremely moist and tasty roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Meat was well cooked, but I found it was missing some seasoning/spice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was def a dinner winner!! Very easy and very tasty! I too cut the roast in half and added some spices before browning the roast (salt, pepper, garlic powder, oregano and some CINNAMON which really complimented the apples!). I placed the roast in the pot and actually added the soy sauce, worcestershire sauce and some APPLE JUICE (maybe like 1/4 cup) to the water to loosen up the brown bits and tossed that into the cooker. I also used 2 apples and 1 onion. Because I have a larger pot, i needed to add some more liquid, so I put about half a box of beef stock in. I cooked it on low for 5 hours, and my meat was a little dryer than I would've liked...but not a huge deal. While the meat sat I made the gravy, I strained the liquid and put the apples and onion through a food processer and added it back to the pan. Then I added some more apple juice to bring out that apple flavor and about a tablespoon of red wine and boiled it until it thickened up (about 10 min) stirring occassionally. No cornstarch or browning sauce needed! Delish to begin with and also great as leftovers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
One of my favorite pot roast recipes definitely! The roast always comes out so moist and the gravy is delicious! I make it as is with the additions of fresh ground black pepper, a pinch of sugar and a bay leaf. I rub Emeril's Essence on the roast before browning in a tablespoon olive oil and use 2 Granny Smith apples. Can't wait to have this again tonight with buttermilk mashed potatoes, dijon glazed carrots and some biscuits ! Oh, I never use the browning sauce, it doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fulk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I used two golden delicious apples, and at the end I pureed the apples in the gravy. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I love this recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I didn't care for this at all. . It was just bland pot roast and I usually serve foods with more spice and zing. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
3/5 for the recipe as described, 5/5 with some simple changes: 1.) Salt and season the roast before you brown it with any dried aromatics you've got on hand -- thyme and oregano work well. 1:1 salt to herb ratio. 2.) Don't use water for... well, anything with meat. Use beef stock instead, and omit the browning sauce later -- you'll make a much tastier gravy. this way. 3.) Don't throw out those apples! After removing the roast, strain the liquid into a pan using a colander. Press the apples (I used carrots, too) with a large spoon to squeeze out more liquid, then put them right back in before reducing the liquid. 4.) Don't wus out and thicken with corn starch; 3 Tbsp of butter makes for a richer, tastier sauce. Add back onto sliced roast in your crock pot, give it all a stir, and serve up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States