Apple and Feta Pan Fried Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe- as it stands- works very well. It's almost professional, in fact- something that I could see served as a restaurant appetizer. A couple of suggestions, here- do make fresh pizza dough and _do_- fry it, as suggested. Do not deep fry, but pan fry. The dough takes on a completely different texture and flavor that really supports the flavors. I would suggest, also, sauteeing the apples until just done- and if they are not very sweet, adding a little sugar to bump that up. The apples should be _just_ on the sweet side. Finally, I would strongly consider blending the feta with a little bit of oil and spooning it on_top_ of the apples before baking. Feta cheese doesn't always melt very well. Making a sort of spread out of it will help enormously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Not a fan of frying anything, I opted to bake the dough. I put the apples and thyme on before baking, and then sprinkled the feta after baking. The cheese melted good and nice, and the flavors complemented each other beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Interesting and good. I used a refridgerated crust instead of the mix. Next time I will also add fresh mozarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
i could not find powdered pizza crust, so i used focacia bread mix... they turned out ok... i would use a tart apple like granny smiths, i used red delicious and the result was too sweet for my taste.. i used more feta than called for because i love feta cheese... the focacia would not make good crust, it plumped up too much and everything just wanted to fall off... i did, however, love the sweet apple taste contrast with the tart feta and the thyme was a wonderful accent... i would definitely try it again with a tarter apple and the right crust... a moderately quick and different from the mainstream meal when you are sick of pasta again.. ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Very good ideas, I made a few modifications. We used a Boboli crust with a barbeque sauce base. I fried up 4 slices of bacon and then sauteed onions, apples, 1 Tbs brown sugar and thyme in same pan. Has become a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Definitly would follow another users advice about preping the feta so it spreads better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Really, really nice. I used a cornmeal dough, and russet apples. I don't think a sweet apple will work as well with this recipe. An apple that will remain firm after baking will work best texture wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I didn't do the pan-frying the dough part - just used frozen pizza dough and topped it as directed in the recipe. Delicious - great flavor combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
These were good. Served at a girls night. I ended up making them with pears instead of apples. I also made a basalmic vinegar reduction and drizzled it over the finished pizzas. Added a little acidity which was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I thought these were quite nice. I only gave it a 4 as written though because they are absolutely AMAZING with pear instead of apple. I tried both, and my tasters and I all agreed that the apple version pales in comparison. Good as written, but do try it with pear also. I used a red pear, don't know what variety that is, and a golden delicious apple. Also, I really don't think you need that much cheese and onion. I used half of what the recipe calls for, and had just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast English Muffin Pizzas

Individual pizzas made on English muffins with sauce, cheese and pepperoni.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Easy Apple Crisp

Apple crisp made with white cake mix, sugar, cinnamon and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States