Apple and Feta Pan Fried Pizzas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
i could not find powdered pizza crust, so i used focacia bread mix... they turned out ok... i would use a tart apple like granny smiths, i used red delicious and the result was too sweet for my taste.. i used more feta than called for because i love feta cheese... the focacia would not make good crust, it plumped up too much and everything just wanted to fall off... i did, however, love the sweet apple taste contrast with the tart feta and the thyme was a wonderful accent... i would definitely try it again with a tarter apple and the right crust... a moderately quick and different from the mainstream meal when you are sick of pasta again.. ;)~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
Not a fan of frying anything, I opted to bake the dough. I put the apples and thyme on before baking, and then sprinkled the feta after baking. The cheese melted good and nice, and the flavors complemented each other beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Interesting and good. I used a refridgerated crust instead of the mix. Next time I will also add fresh mozarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This recipe- as it stands- works very well. It's almost professional, in fact- something that I could see served as a restaurant appetizer. A couple of suggestions, here- do make fresh pizza dough and _do_- fry it, as suggested. Do not deep fry, but pan fry. The dough takes on a completely different texture and flavor that really supports the flavors. I would suggest, also, sauteeing the apples until just done- and if they are not very sweet, adding a little sugar to bump that up. The apples should be _just_ on the sweet side. Finally, I would strongly consider blending the feta with a little bit of oil and spooning it on_top_ of the apples before baking. Feta cheese doesn't always melt very well. Making a sort of spread out of it will help enormously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
Definitly would follow another users advice about preping the feta so it spreads better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
Really, really nice. I used a cornmeal dough, and russet apples. I don't think a sweet apple will work as well with this recipe. An apple that will remain firm after baking will work best texture wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
this recipe was simple, and delicious, and my family loved it. i never would've thought about trying a combonation like that, but it's a wonderful dish. i would definitly reccomend it to anyone with a big family. however, i doubled it, because the dough wasn't enough to make even four pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Very good ideas, I made a few modifications. We used a Boboli crust with a barbeque sauce base. I fried up 4 slices of bacon and then sauteed onions, apples, 1 Tbs brown sugar and thyme in same pan. Has become a favorite in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
Great flavor combo! I made the dough from scratch (bread machine) and pan fried it. Frying it does make a difference in the texture. Also, I didn't use nearly as much goat cheese as in the recipe. I just eyed the amount when I sprinkled it on top. I bet this would be good on top of a pita if you're short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I made the pizza dough myself and they puffed up nicely when pan fried in olive oil, and had the wonderful aroma of gyros. But it's not very flavorful, and the feta-onion combo is a little on the dry side. Maybe next time I'll use half ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pita Pizzas

Put whatever you like on your own “pizza.” Then make a sweet one for dessert!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States