Apple and Brown Sugar Corned Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Did not like this dish one bit. Apples was not worth tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Nice, and I will make again but it really was too sweet. I followed the suggestion by another poster and added some vinegar to the liquid and a lot more mustard but next time I will skip adding the sugar instead. I also added some bay leaves, I love bay, te seasoning packet and more mustard seeds. Lastly, I added the cabbage in the last hour only, along with some green beans and they were perfect. Then once all the veg were on a platter I poured a lemon butter sauce with parsley (melted butter, a squeeze of lemon and chopped parsley) over the whole lot--my mom's trick. As for cook time, I did one hour at high at first, then 10.5 hrs on low. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
i love this beef is tasty and different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
This was the best Corned Beef recipe ever. Everyone in the house including 5 guys over for band practice ate this one up. Most of them hated Corned Beef but after this they have asked that I make this every year for St Pat's day. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Shaw

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Imperial, Missouri, USA
Living In: Festus, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Its been cooking on high for 5 hours & its not close to being ready! I think your crock pot must be nuclear powered. I can't wait to try it. I added a tblsp of cider vinegar, garlic, 1 bay leaf, a tsp of worcestershire sauce & I make a dipping sauce from plain yogurt mixed with horseradish. I tweak all my recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fuzzywuzzy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Easy to follow recipe. Nice and tasty on the first try. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
First off, I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, and it is great! I didn't find it too sweet, it was actually a fun take on corned beef and cabbage. The family loved it and I will definitely make this over and over again! Some horseradish mustard on the side is great to give a sweet and spicy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
We just didnt care for it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Mmmmmmmmmmmm!! Not a big fan of "traditional" corned beef and cabbage, so this was an interesting idea to try. I halved the recipe, changed apple cider for juice, added three cut apples, left out the onions and used the regular potatoes I had on hand vs. red. Reading other reviews, I decided to wait 'til the last hr. to add the chopped cabbage, so it still had good taste/texture. The sweet/salty flavor mix was wonderful, and this is how we're eating corned beef and cabbage from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This recipe was okay, but not as good as everyone else raved about it. The flavor of the apple is only tasted in the outside edge of the beef. And in the potatoes. It was tender, but any liquid in the slow cooker would do that. I wouldn't spend the money to buy apple juice (which I don't usually have on hand) to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKalka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States