Appetizer Stuffed Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I used olive oil instead of butter, didn't use peppers (didn't have any) and it still came out great! If you use 12 mushrooms, only cut up half of the stems. I cut all of them and had way too much filling left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I loved reading the reviews beforehand because they helped make these mushrooms delicious! I used 2 tbsp of butter to saute my mushroom stems and onions. I don't like green pepper so I left that out. I didn't cook it until it was dry. Then I mixed in the spices and used Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of the bread. Then I refrigerated the mixture overnight so all of those flavors could mingle. The next day, I forgot to mix in the Parmesan, but I don't think anybody missed it. My guests loved these mushrooms, even my mother-in-law who doesn't even like mushrooms!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
not enough flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This was an easy way to prepare a vegetarian side. i took them to Christmas dinner for my vegetarian sister and cousin. They both loved them. I'm glad I didn't saute the mushrooms because they mentioned how good they were because they weren't greasy. The only changes I made were that instead of breadcrumbs I used some leftover homemade vegetarian stuffing (which added to the flavor) and I did not sprinkle Parmesan cheese on after. They didn't seem like they needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I've made these several times for different events and they were practically inhaled by the guests. however, I did do a little tweaking. I used italian bread crumbs once instead of the toast, and people absolutely loved it! Also, I baked it for longer than the recipe called for to keep the mushrooms hot longer, since I had to drive a while before they were eaten, and they were still incredibly tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
3 stars ONLY because it was way too salty for our tastes. Maybe next time I will try garlic & onion powders instead of salts. (Or maybe one of each.) It was still tasty & we will definitely try them again when we need an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I revised this by using two diet whole wheat English muffins, toasted; 2 minced garlic cloves, 2 tbs of red onion, no green pepper, and a generous sprinkle of poultry seasoning for the thyme. I found it too dry, so I used 2 Tbs. diet cream cheese, and microwaved it all together to melt, and mixed before filling...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
There are so many ways you can change up this recipe to make it perfect for you. Add bacon, add regular store bough bread crumbs (though the real bread is better). I love this recipe as it is, but it can be changed to suit your tastes. I make it for parties and no one can get enough. Worth the extra time it takes to stuff them. And they're beautiful. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I used plain bread crumbs instead of a slice of bread, and a small sprinkle of water, and baked them with the Parmesan plus Cheddar cheese, and they were WONDERFUL. Thanks a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
As is, I thought the recipe was too dry (thus the three stars). With the following changes, it got rave reviews from my entire extended family. I used olive oil in place of the butter, and 1/2 cup each of green onion and regular onion, plus 2 T pressed garlic. Didn't use the onion or garlic salts, but added 1/4 t regular salt. Mixed about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese with the rest of the filling before stuffing the mushrooms, and then sprinkled the rest on top when they were done baking. Before baking, I sprinkled about 1 T of olive oil over each mushroom to absorb into the bread to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States