Appetizer Mussels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I think I will probably only use this recipe to make mussels from now on....I just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I added a little extra butter to try and thicken the sauce but it didn't work. Whisked some cornstarch into a small amount of clam and tomato juice cocktail to help thicken and worked. Next time I will add seasoned, canned, diced tomatoes. Make sure you have a baguette for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very tasty, I mixed it up a bit to use what I had on hand. V8 juice instead of Clamato, and dry vermouth instead of wine. Could have used a bit more red pepper in my opinion but very delicous for a lunch on a hot summer day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I make this bi-weekly as it is my boyfriends fave. I make only a few changes - i skip the reduction part AND skip the butter (I've done it a couple of times-but don't notice much/any difference) - add more clamato, NO tomato juice BUT I do add one large can of diced tomatoes (drained...the ones with the italian seasoning already mixed in are great!!). I also use the extra spicy clamato - which gives it an extra kick. I serve it more like a 'Fish Stew' in a large bowl with a baguette - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Very good recipe! I added extra clam juice, garlic powder and cayenne to kick it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Great recipe! My boyfriend and I always order mussels in red sauce when we go out to Italian restaurants so for a special treat, I thought I'd try making them at home. Success! I made a few changes as some had suggested. I was pretty liberal with the measurements of the the white wine, clam juice and tomato juice. I added some diced tomatoes, fresh parsley and basil, salt/pepper, minced onions and a little more garlic. This, a salad with oil/vinegar and a loaf of baguette and you got yourself dinner. Can't wait to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
In terms of ease and presentation - excellent. Taste -- average. Seemed dull to us. Next time I will make the sauce with additional spices, cook the seafood by itself and pour the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe is so great! It's yummy, quick, easy, and inexpensive! It was my first time making mussels and they were perfect. My husband loves mussels so I made this as part of our Valentine's dinner and we both loved it! I couldn't find the tomato & clam cocktail juice, so I mixed regular tomato juice with clam juice. I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Surprisingly tasty way to cook and eat mussels! I couldn't find tomato clam cocktail, so I just used tomato cocktail. I love mussels, and thought the tomato with this recipe might taste weird, but it was a peppery tomato flavor and turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This is a fantastic and simple recipe. It was the first time I have made mussels and they came out perfect. I didn't have regular tomato juice so I used V-8 and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Drunken Mussels

See how to make quick, delicious mussels steamed in white wine.

Thai Steamed Mussels

These delicious, Thai-inspired steamed mussels are ready in no time.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States