Appalachian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
A friend made this to go along with her hotdogs. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
this is my favorite version of slaw yet. I have made it twice and my suggestion is select a cabbage that isn't rock hard. The looser more green ones have a much sweeter flavor. I did sprinkle a couple drops of red wine vinegar in the mayo, not more than that. The first time I made it I only had the grape tomatoes so I used them cut in half, the second time I used regular tomatoes, I think I like the grape tomatoes best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I'm not much of a coleslaw-type person, but this sounded good so I tried it...and I'm so very glad I did! I seeded the cucumber (used 1 whole) and the tomato; used a purple onion and bagged mix that had a small amount of carrots & purple cabbage (also added quite a lot more mayo than called for). This made a very colorful mix! I also don't like sweet slaws, so I tasted before I added the sugar, then tasted again after adding the sugar. It wasn't sweeter but it was definitely better! All in all, a great recipe and one I will make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Thanks for sharing this "winner". This ended a long search I have had for a really good slaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
LOVED IT! I think the cabbage needs to be in even smaller pieces than I did, and it probably would be a smidge better if left overnight but it was still excellent the way it was. I added quite a bit more mayo than suggested and only used half the salt. Next time I'd do more tomato and cucumber but this was a delicious, quick and easy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is a really good salad...may want to salt to your taste because it tastes good without any salt at all. Even if you dont like "coleslaw" you may like this because it is milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I used a little more mayonnaise also and I added some dill weed and fennel seed. Great recipe and a nice changeup from the normal slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I'm really not a fan of cole slaw but I gave this a try....we loved it! Very light and refreshing with the perfect blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I love coleslaw and this was a great variation to it. I used lo-fat mayo and it turned out great and saved some calories, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. This really is an Appalachian recipe. My grandmother used to make this and she lived in the heart of Appalachia in the coalfieds of Southwest Virginia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States