Appalachian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Thanks for sharing this "winner". This ended a long search I have had for a really good slaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Super easy, too much salt for my taste. I used 2 tablespoons of mayo. It was ok but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
LOVED IT! I think the cabbage needs to be in even smaller pieces than I did, and it probably would be a smidge better if left overnight but it was still excellent the way it was. I added quite a bit more mayo than suggested and only used half the salt. Next time I'd do more tomato and cucumber but this was a delicious, quick and easy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This is a really good salad...may want to salt to your taste because it tastes good without any salt at all. Even if you dont like "coleslaw" you may like this because it is milder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I used a little more mayonnaise also and I added some dill weed and fennel seed. Great recipe and a nice changeup from the normal slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I liked the addition of the tomatoes and the onion to the slaw, but the dressing lacked the oompf that I was looking for. Think I will continue to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I'm really not a fan of cole slaw but I gave this a try....we loved it! Very light and refreshing with the perfect blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I love this recipe. I substitued Spleda for sugar and light mayo and it was a great low cal side. I even sprinkled a few sunflower seeds and had as a snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great slaw! I made this with tomatoes and cucumber that I had de-seeded (eliminated a lot of the water that can make slaw soupy). I found that I needed a lot more mayo than 1 tbsp - I used well over half a cup for 4 heaped cups of bagged slaw mix. Also, used about 1/2 tsp of sugar because I am not keen on sweet slaw. Finally, I used celery salt instead of plain because I like the flavor. This turned out to be a very tasty colorful dish that I am sure I will make again. Thanks, Bluewoulf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I love coleslaw and this was a great variation to it. I used lo-fat mayo and it turned out great and saved some calories, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States