Appalachian Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
Super easy, too much salt for my taste. I used 2 tablespoons of mayo. It was ok but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
LOVED IT! I think the cabbage needs to be in even smaller pieces than I did, and it probably would be a smidge better if left overnight but it was still excellent the way it was. I added quite a bit more mayo than suggested and only used half the salt. Next time I'd do more tomato and cucumber but this was a delicious, quick and easy slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
Thanks for sharing this "winner". This ended a long search I have had for a really good slaw recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. The ingredient list is so simple I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. I am actually not a very big fan of coleslaws and am very picky as to how they're prepared. I couldn't get enough of this - I almost ate a whole bowl by itself. If I was going to change anything I would probably use less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Great slaw! I made this with tomatoes and cucumber that I had de-seeded (eliminated a lot of the water that can make slaw soupy). I found that I needed a lot more mayo than 1 tbsp - I used well over half a cup for 4 heaped cups of bagged slaw mix. Also, used about 1/2 tsp of sugar because I am not keen on sweet slaw. Finally, I used celery salt instead of plain because I like the flavor. This turned out to be a very tasty colorful dish that I am sure I will make again. Thanks, Bluewoulf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I used a little more mayonnaise also and I added some dill weed and fennel seed. Great recipe and a nice changeup from the normal slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was a good mix of vegetables. I like tomatoes and cucumbers in this slaw. But the dressing needs something more. I used 2 Tbsp of mayo, but I don't think adding more mayo is what it needs--maybe a litte bit of ranch dressing added to it or Miracle Whip instead of mayo. I was looking for a slaw recipe without vinegar, so I'm trying to keep from adding that to it. I'll definitely try this one again with some additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I'm not much of a coleslaw-type person, but this sounded good so I tried it...and I'm so very glad I did! I seeded the cucumber (used 1 whole) and the tomato; used a purple onion and bagged mix that had a small amount of carrots & purple cabbage (also added quite a lot more mayo than called for). This made a very colorful mix! I also don't like sweet slaws, so I tasted before I added the sugar, then tasted again after adding the sugar. It wasn't sweeter but it was definitely better! All in all, a great recipe and one I will make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Zimmerman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
I'm really not a fan of cole slaw but I gave this a try....we loved it! Very light and refreshing with the perfect blend of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
I liked the addition of the tomatoes and the onion to the slaw, but the dressing lacked the oompf that I was looking for. Think I will continue to look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States