Apfelkuchen (Apple Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is without a doubt the best apple cake I've baked; and yes it tastes just like the 'Apfelkuchen' you'd find in Germany. The only change I made was to substitute freshly grated lime zest for the candied peel, as I don't like candied peel, and I used 4 apples instead of 3. Next time I will bake it at 390' F for 40 minutes, and definitely bake it on the middle shelf of the oven as it baked a bit dark underneath.- although this could be due to my new oven that I'm still getting used to. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved this cake, can't wait to make this for my family. First time making a cake with yeast. I was a little Leary, but it was great. Not overly sweet like a regular cake, just right. The dough is sticky but just keep your fingers floured and it works just fine. I didn't add the candied lemon, didn't have any. I used four apples because I felt my apples were small. I wouldn't change a thing. Lol not true I would also try a blueberry filling and a cherry filling. We all know a recipe is just a starting point : ) thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My mother is from Germany, I have been there several times. This is just like the cake I have eaten there. I may try with plums instead of apples next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! As a German, I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
this is a good dish I made it and everyone loved it but my first got a little burned that stunk it was such a tasty cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
AWESOME! What a great cake. Very easy to make and just so delicious, especially warmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rudysfavorites

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Making this one again at husband's request for Thanksgiving dessert. I used dark brown sugar in the topping the first time. A little too "gooey" with just the brown sugar - going to use half regular and half brown sugar this time. Overall flavor and ease of prep was great. Don't be scared of the yeast batter - it takes care of itself without being fussy. Would be great warm with a little scoop of ice cream or whipped cream - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
As good as in Germany, and my house smells heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Delicious and easy! I added some cranberries and sunflower seeds for a different flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Branford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Just loved this recipe. Kids and husband all raved about it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States