Apfelkuchen (Apple Cake) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BeccaH
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Such a great cake...almost brownie-like texture. It's essentially a sweetbread with yummy/gooey apple filling topped with a streusel. I ended up adding quite a bit more flour to the dough and also baked it about 10 mins longer, as the center still seemed gooey. It may have set up if I had just left it alone but I wanted to be sure. I actually signed up just so I could leave a review of this cake because there aren't enough. We really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this the other day, and it was a blast from the past! My mother is from Germany and used to make this often. This is the same recipe she has from a German cookbook called Backen macht Freude (baking makes joy!) The dough to this recipe can be used as a base for so many other cakes! Good job sneez :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for my German grandmothers birthday and it was a big hit. The only negative was the dough rose a little too much on the sides of the cake which kind of bubbled over making the cake look a little strange. The inside of the cake was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I really like the concept of this recipe with yeast in the cake batter, baked apples, and crumble topping. The taste and texture were good, but it seems that the recipe's 400F cooking temperature is too high. The exterior of the cake was brown after just 20 minutes, but the center was not done. The next time I make this I will use a lower oven temperature in hopes that it will bake more evenly. ... I have made this recipe a second time using 375F cooking temperature and still wasn't thrilled with the way it came out. I wonder if I am overcooking it, but if cooked less then the batter that isn't touching the baking dish would still be doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This reminds me so much of the apple cake we got at the local German bakery as kids! I'm so excited to share it with my sister! Thank you for the walk down memory lane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Just made this for the first time today. This is one of the best desserts I have had in my whole life! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Thank you so much, sneez, for such an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Merwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This is without a doubt the best apple cake I've baked; and yes it tastes just like the 'Apfelkuchen' you'd find in Germany. The only change I made was to substitute freshly grated lime zest for the candied peel, as I don't like candied peel, and I used 4 apples instead of 3. Next time I will bake it at 390' F for 40 minutes, and definitely bake it on the middle shelf of the oven as it baked a bit dark underneath.- although this could be due to my new oven that I'm still getting used to. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueplate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Loved this cake, can't wait to make this for my family. First time making a cake with yeast. I was a little Leary, but it was great. Not overly sweet like a regular cake, just right. The dough is sticky but just keep your fingers floured and it works just fine. I didn't add the candied lemon, didn't have any. I used four apples because I felt my apples were small. I wouldn't change a thing. Lol not true I would also try a blueberry filling and a cherry filling. We all know a recipe is just a starting point : ) thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
My mother is from Germany, I have been there several times. This is just like the cake I have eaten there. I may try with plums instead of apples next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Wonderful! As a German, I thoroughly enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States